Subject UPDATES Fall 2021

SHARE:

Check the subject updates for Fall Term 2021 by clicking on the appropriate subject card on this page. These comprise the known changes for subject offerings by the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science. For further information about any subject contact the instructor directly.

6.S899 Brain Algorithms
Graduate Level; Units: 3-0-9; Prerequisites: Analysis of algorithms, at the level of 6.046. Probability. Desirable: Distributed algorithms, 6.852 or a similar course. Some familiarity with system modeling and neuroscience; Instructor: Prof. Nancy Lynch (lynch@csail.mit.edu); Schedule: TR11-12:30, room 32-124; Satisfies: none
6.S080 Data-Driven Decision Making and Society
Undergraduate Level; Units: 4-0-8; Prerequisites: 6.041, 6.042, or 18.600 (or any one as a co-requisite); Instructors: Prof. Aleksander Madry, Prof. Asu Ozdaglar, and Prof. Ashia Wilson; Schedule: TR11-12:30, room 54-100; Recitations F1, F2, F3 room 13-3101; Satisfies: EECS
21M.387 Fundamentals of Music Processing (also 6.S197)
Undergraduate Level; Units: 3-0-9; Prereqs: 6.003, 6.0002, and 21M.051; Instructor: Prof. Eran Egozy; Schedule: TR11-12:30, room 4-270; Satisfies: HASS-A (for 21M.387), 6.S197 (EECS department lab)
6.S898 Deep Learning
Graduate Level; Units: 3-0-3; Prerequisites: 6.036, 6.041 or 6.042; 18.06; Instructors: Prof. Phillip Isola (phillipi@mit.edu); Schedule: TR1-2:30, room 4-231; Satifies: none
6.S897 Academic Job Search
Graduate Level; Units: 2-0-4; Prereqs: permission of instructor; Instructors: Prof. Saman Amarasignhe (saman@mit.edu), Co-Instructor Deanna Montgomery (dmont@mit.edu); Schedule: Tuesdays 4:30-6:30, room 4-231; Satisfies: none
6.S975 Seminar on Learning and Data-Driven Algorithms in Geometry
Graduate level PDF; Units: 2-0-7; Prerequisites: knowledge of Linear Algebra, Calculus, and basic programming skills; Instructors: Professor Justin Solomon (jsolomon@mit.edu), Tal Shnitzer-Dery (talsd@mit.edu), Oded Stein (ostein@mit.edu); Schedule: Monday 1-3, room 34-303; Satisfies: none
6.881 Tissue vs Silicon in Machine Learning
Graduate Level - AAGS; Units 3-0-9; Prereqs: none; Instructor: Prof. Nir Shavit (shanir@csail.mit.edu); Schedule: W11-2, room 3-442; Satisfies: AAGS; AI concentration
6.S078 Engineering the Internet (meets with 6.450)
Undergraduate Level; Units: 3-0-9; Prerequisites: 6.02, 6.041, 6.042, or equivalent; Instructor: Professor Muriel Medard (medard@mit.edu); Schedule: TR2:30-4, room 2-105; Satisfies: AUS, Lab
6.S057 Computer Systems and Society
Undergraduate Level; Units: 3-0-9; Prereqs: 6.033; Instructor: Katrina LaCurts (lacurts@mit.edu); Schedule: TR11-12:30, room 66-144; Satisfies: II
6.S059 Nanotechnology - Design from Atoms to Everything
Undergraduate Level; Units 2-3-7; Prerequisite: 8.02 Physics II; Instructors: Profs. Farnaz Niroui (fniroui@mit.edu) and Rajeev Ram (rajeev@mit.edu); Schedule: Lectures: TR10, room 32-155; Labs Fridays times 9am-12pm, 12-3pm, 2-5pm, room 12-3101; Satisfies: DLAB2, AUS2
6.887 Machine Learning for Systems
Graduate Level -AAGS; Units: 3-0-9; Prereqs: 6.009, 6.006, 6.008, 6.036, 6.034, 6.033 Instructors: Profs. Mohammad Alizadeh (alizadeh@csail.mit.edu) and Tim Kraska (kraska@mit.edu); Schedule: MW2:30-4, room 32-124; Satisfies: AAGS, Comp Sys concentration
6.644 Quantum Measurement and Control
Graduate Level; Units: 3-0-9; Prereqs: 8.04 or permission of instructor; Instructor: Prof. Kevin O'Brien, kpobrien@mit.edu; Schedule: TR1-2:30, room 32-144; Satisfies: AAGS; App Phys concentration
6.890 Graph and Matrix Algorithms
Graduate Level; Units: 3-0-9; Prerequisites: 6.006, 6.046; Instructor: Professor Virginia Vassilevska Williams (virgito@gmail.com); Schedule: TR11-12:30, room 3-270; Satisfies: Theoretical Computer Science concentration
6.S061 Introduction to Computer Science and Programming for Non-Programmers
Undergraduate Level; Units: 3-0-6; Prereqs: None; Instructors: Prof. John Guttag (guttag@mit.edu); Prof. Fredo Durand (fredo@mit.edu); Prof. Eric Grimson (egrimson@mit.edu); Ana Bell (anabell@mit.edu); Schedule: MW3:00-4:30, room 54-100;
6.S081 Introduction to Operating Systems
Undergraduate Level Units: 3-6-3; Prereqs: 6.004; Instructor: Prof. Adam Belay (abelay@mit.edu); Schedule: MW1-2:30, room 32-123; Satisfies: AUS
6.S084 Linear Algebra and Optimization (also 18.061)
Undergraduate Level; Units: 5-0-7; Prerequisites:18.02; Instructors: Professors Pablo Parrilo (parrilo@mit.edu), Ankur Moitra (moitra@mit.edu); Schedule: Lectures, MWF1 room 4-370; Recitations TR 10, 11, 12, 1, 2, 3, room 2-146; Satisfies: 18.06 substitution
6.S058 Representation and Inference in Artificial Intelligence (meets with 16.420)
Undergraduate Level; Units: 3-0-9; Prerequisites: 6.006 and (6.008 or 6.041) and 6.009; Instructors: Profs. Leslie Kaelbling (lpk@csail.mit.edu and Tomas Lozano-Perez (tlp@mit.edu); Schedule: MW9:30-11, room E25-111; Satisfies: 6.034 alternative
6.S060 Foundations of Computer Security
Undergraduate Level; Prereq: 6.006 and 6.033, or permission of instructor; Units: 4-0-8; Instructors: Professors Henry Corrigan-Gibbs (henrycg@csail.mit.edu), Srini Devadas (devadas@mit.edu), and Yael Kalai (tauman@mit.edu); Schedule: Lec MW11-12:30, room 36-153; Rec F11, 35-308; F3, room 35-308; Satisfies: