• Electrical Engineering & Computer Science

    electrons and bits
    dancing to a joyful tune
    EECS is everywhere
  • Mohammad Alizadeh, Caroline Uhler, and Virginia Williams were recognized for “outstanding promise” in their fields.
  • “Queen of carbon science” and recipient of Presidential Medal of Freedom and National Medal of Science led US scientific community, promoted women in STEM.
  • Computer scientist Regina Barzilay empowers cancer treatment with machine learning.
  • Dina Katabi, the Andrew (1956) and Erna Viterbi Professor in the Department of EECS and a member of CSAIL, was recognized for contributions to network congestion control and to wireless communications.
  • In an effort to get ahead of the problem of counterfeit wireless chargers, MIT MTL researchers have built a chip that blocks attempts to wirelessly charge a device’s battery unless the charger first provides cryptographic authentication.
  • Professors Thomas Heldt, Aleksander Madry, Daniel Sanchez, and Vivienne Sze are promoted to the rank of Associate Professor without Tenure, effective July 1, 2017.
  • Innovators in the fields of materials chemistry, online care, natural language processing, social robotics, and venture capital shared their founders’ journey and how they made impact along the way during a panel discussion at StartMIT’s Innovation Night on Jan. 11 at the MIT Media Lab. Led by moderator Kym McNicholas, the cast included MIT faculty members Regina Barzilay, Angela Belcher, and Cynthia Breazeal; as well as Donna Levin, and Katie Rae. Common themes of passion and timing emerged throughout the conversation as McNicholas asked the panel about topics related to risk, research, inspiration, and failure.
  • The National Academy of Engineering (NAE) 2017 Fritz J. and Dolores H. Russ Prize was awarded to a team of researchers, including James Fujimoto and Eric Swanson. James Fujimoto is the Elihu Thomson Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science in EECS and principal investigator in the Research Laboratory of Electronics (RLE). Eric Swanson '84 is an active participant in a variety of entrepreneurial, industrial, academic, and volunteer activities and is an affiliate of the MIT Deshpande Center for Entrepreneurship and the MIT Translational Fellows Program.
  • StartMIT, a class held from January 9 to 23, connects MIT undergrads, grad students, postdocs, and other members of the MIT community with successful entrepreneurs for a crash course on the many paths to entrepreneurship. MIT students will be working closely with entrepreneurs and innovators to develop their ideas; participate in activities to refine their projects, and attend events with alumni and other leaders in the Boston entrepreneurial ecosystem.
  • Two EECS faculty members were honored in the Forbes 30 Under 30 in Science 2017 list that showcases America’s most important young scientists, entrepreneurs, thinkers, and leaders.