Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence Laboratory (CSAIL)

  • In 2002 MIT Laboratory for Computer Science researchers Karen Sollins and David Clark (along with co-authors John Wroclawski and Bob Braden, with the USC Information Sciences Institute) published and presented a paper to an Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) SIGCOMM conference titled "Tussle in Cyberspace: Defining Tomorrow's Internet." Due to the enduring nature of their discussion and the fact the paper was shared with an ACM conference, it is now being recognized with the ACM's Test of Time award ten years later.
  • Electrical engineering and computer science graduate student Bernhard Haeupler, student of MIT EECS Department faculty Muriel Medard, and David Karger, won one of two best student paper awards at the ACM-SIAM Symposium on Discrete Algorithms this month for his work creating a reliable algorithm that delivers messages in decentralized networks, that have unknown shapes. By making this algorithm deterministic - rather than probalistic - the message will reach all nodes, guaranteeing delivery. [Graphic courtesy of Christine Daniloff, MIT News Office.]
  • In an effort to bring a more human dimension to the online education experience, MIT Professor Rob Miller and EECS graduate students Mason Tang and Elena Tatarchenko have developed a new computer system that will help provide students with feedback on their homework assignments and create more interaction between students, teachers, and alumni.
  • EECS Prof. Hal Abelson is making waves with his work developing the new Center for Mobile Learning at MIT and a new program called App Inventor, which is designed to allow individuals with no programming background the opportunity to create mobile applications. The Center, which is led by Abelson, Professor Eric Klopfer and Professor Mitchel Resnick, is dedicated to putting mobile technology into the hands of children as a vehicle for learning.
  • The Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE) has elected EECS professors Rodney Brooks and David Perreault to IEEE Fellow status. Professors Brooks and Perreault are among a class of 297 selected for the class of 2013 IEEE Fellows.
  • EECS faculty member Erik Demaine, professor of computer science at MIT, and principal investigator in the Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence Lab (CSAIL) has teamed with members of the MIT Center for Bits and Atoms to develop a new kind of robotic device that mimics nature's folding of proteins to allow for all kinds of possible functionality.
  • The Electrical Engineering and Computer Science Department at MIT has announced that the recipients of the Faculty Research and Innovation Fellowship (FRIF) for 2012 are Fredo Durand, Piotr Indyk and Pablo Parrilo.


Subscribe to Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence Laboratory (CSAIL)