Jesus A. del Alamo wins IPRM Award 2020

Prof. Jesús A. del Álamo

Jesús A. del Álamo is a Professor of Electrical Engineering at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT). He holds degrees from Polytechnic University of Madrid (Telecommunications Engineer, 1980), and Stanford University (MS EE, 1983 and PhD EE, 1985). From 1977 to 1981 he was with the Institute of Solar Energy of the Polytechnic University of Madrid, investigating silicon photovoltaics. From 1981 to 1985, he carried out his PhD dissertation at Stanford University on minority carrier transport in heavily doped silicon. From 1985 to 1988 he was a research engineer with NTT LSI Laboratories in Atsugi (Japan) where he conducted research on III-V heterostructure field-effect transistors. He joined MIT in 1988.

Professor del Alamo has had a distinguished career in III-V transistor technology, reliability, and physics. For the last few years, his research effort has been divided between advancing high electron mobility transistors (HEMTs) for high frequency applications, and exploring the opportunities of highly- scaled III- V MOSFETs (Metal-Oxide-Semiconductor Field- Effect- Transistors) as alternative to Si transistors for CMOS logic applications. His work opened the doors to the use of these devices in THz applications, and to consider III-V compound semiconductor alloys as serious alternatives to Si in deep nanoscale CMOS applications. Prof. del Alamo has received numerous awards including the 2012 Intel Outstanding Researcher Award in Emerging Research Devices, the Semiconductor Research Corporation 2012 Technical Excellence Award, the 2014 Roger A. Haken Best Student Paper Award at IEDM, and the 2019 SIA-SRC University Researcher Award. He is a Fellow of IEEE and the American Physical Society, and a corresponding member of the Royal Spanish Academy of Engineering. Prof. del Alamo is also the Editor-in-Chief of IEEE Electron Device Letters.

The Michael Lunn Award was established in 1993 to commemorate a young research scientist at Wafer Technology Ltd. who became a victim of a car accident. Awardees were chosen by the organizing committee of IPRM on behalf of the III-Vs Review magazine. The award was given for the best paper presented at IPRM in the first three years following its introduction (1993-1995). The criteria were subsequently revised in 1996 to recognize individuals who have made “outstanding contributions to the InP community”. In 2007, the award was renamed the IPRM Award and has since been sponsored by the IPRM international steering committee.

This annoucement originally appeared on the CSW-2020 site on May 18, 2020

Media Inquiries

Journalists seeking information about EECS, or interviews with EECS faculty members, should email

Please note: The EECS Communications Office only handles media inquiries related to MIT’s Department of Electrical Engineering & Computer Science. Please visit other school, department, laboratory, or center websites to locate their dedicated media-relations teams.