Ruonan Han named EECS Undergraduate Laboratory Officer

Ruonan Han is an Associate Professor of Electrical Engineering within the Department of EECS. Photo courtesy of the subject.

Ruonan Han, Associate Professor in the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science (EECS) has been named Undergraduate Laboratory Officer for the department. He succeeds Karl Berggren in the role, which involves long-term strategic planning and supervision duties for the EECS Department Teaching Laboratories (DTLs).

The DTLs supply faculty, students, and staff with the necessary workspace and resources to apply theory from research and classes directly to practical implementation. They also contain one of the major campus maker spaces, providing students from across the institute with access to facilities for electronics fabrication and testing, mechanical assembly, and 3D printing among many other hardware capabilities. More than 30 classes across the EECS spectrum use the teaching laboratories, with most students in those classes using the space several times per week. The 25,378-square-foot space remains open and staffed more than 14 hours per day, six days per week, to serve as a regular classroom location and study area.

Ruonan Han is a core faculty member of the Microsystems Technology Laboratories (MTL), where his research explores microelectronic circuits and systems which bridge the terahertz gap between microwave and infrared domains. Han received his B.S. degree in microelectronics from Fudan University, China, in 2007; his M.S. degree in electrical engineering from the University of Florida in 2009; and his Ph.D. in electrical and computer engineering from Cornell University in 2014. Han is the recipient of the ECE Director’s Best Thesis Research Award and Innovation Award from Cornell University; three Best Student Paper Awards from IEEE RFIC Symposium (2012, 2017 and 2021); NSF Faculty Early CAREER Development Award (2017); Intel Outstanding Researcher Award (2019); IEEE Microwave Theory & Technique Society Distinguished Lecturer (2019), IEEE Solid-State Circuits Society New Frontier Award (2023), and many other awards and honors. He joined MIT EECS in 2014.

Media Inquiries

Journalists seeking information about EECS, or interviews with EECS faculty members, should email

Please note: The EECS Communications Office only handles media inquiries related to MIT’s Department of Electrical Engineering & Computer Science. Please visit other school, department, laboratory, or center websites to locate their dedicated media-relations teams.