A collage of professional headshots includes Phillip Isola, Will Oliver, Costis Daskalakis, Manish Raghavan, Stefanie Mueller, Martin Wainwright, Muriel Médard, Martha Gray, Polina Golland, and David Perreault.

Recent chair announcements within EECS

October 25, 2022

The Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science (EECS) recently announced the following crop of chair appointments, all effective July 1, 2022. Karl Berggren has been named the

School of Engineering welcomes new faculty

March 8, 2022

Sixteen new professors join the MIT community, with research areas ranging from robotics and machine learning to health care and agriculture.

Three from MIT receive 2021 Hertz Foundation Fellowships

July 1, 2021

Allen Liu ’20, Alex Miller ’21, and Isabelle Yan Phinney ’20. Photos courtesy of the Hertz Foundation. The Fannie and John Hertz Foundation has selected three MIT students as

Four researchers earn interdisciplinary Schmidt Science Fellowships

June 25, 2021

Left to right: Álvaro Fernández Galiana, Fatima Hussain, Sirma Orguc, and Rebecca Pinals have been named as Schmidt Science Fellows, an honor created in 2017 to encourage young

Clearing the way toward robust quantum computing

June 25, 2021

A tunable coupler can switch the qubit-qubit interaction on and off. Unwanted, residual (ZZ) interaction between the two qubits is eliminated by harnessing higher energy levels of the

Developing drones to address pandemic-related challenges in Scandinavia

June 23, 2021

Lars Erik Matsson Fagernæs, Bernhard Paus Græsdal, and Herman Øie Kolden (l-r) met in Cambridge, Massachusetts, during orientation for an MIT Professional Education program in 2019. In 2020,

Williams Oliver Madry 2.jpg

Three EECS professors awarded 2021 Faculty Research Innovation Fellowships (FRIFs)

April 14, 2021

From left to right: Ryan Williams, William Oliver, and Aleksander Madry The Department of EECS has awarded three Faculty Research Innovation Fellowships (FRIFs) to Professor Aleksander Madry, Associate

Bayes-Trex researchers photo.png

More transparency and understanding into machine behaviors

March 25, 2021

Left to right: MIT CSAIL PhD student Ankit Shah, postdoc Nadia Figueroa Fernandez, PhD student Serena Booth, and PhD student Yilun Zhou. Photo courtesy of the researchers. Explaining, interpreting,

NAE 2021 members.jpeg

Three MIT researchers elected to the National Academy of Engineering for 2021

February 23, 2021

School of Engineering | MIT Schwarzman College of Computing Three MIT researchers are among the 106 new members and 23 international members elected to the National Academy of Engineering for 2021.


Eight from MIT named 2021 Sloan Research Fellows

February 20, 2021

Eight early-career MIT professors earned Sloan Research Fellowships. Top row, left to right: Fadel Adib, Joey Davis, Steven Flavell, Heather Kulik. Bottom row, left to right: Luquiao Liu, Karthish