Médard named 2021 Member of the American Academy of Arts & Sciences

May 5, 2021

The honor recognizes “extraordinary people who help solve the world’s most urgent challenges, create meaning through art, and contribute to the common good from every field, discipline, and profession”.


“I know what you bought at Chipotle”

February 9, 2021

MIT researchers from the Laboratory for Information and Decision Systems have developed an algorithm that can break down anonymized bill totals into individual item costs, creating an overview

Torralba_Antonio (1) copy.jpg

EECS Faculty Head Antonio Torralba Elected AAAI Fellow

December 23, 2020

Faculty head of AI&D Antonio Torralba. Antonio Torralba, Faculty Head of AI&D within the Department of EECS and the Thomas and Gerd Perkins Professor of Electrical Engineering and


“A Really Special Gift”: a remembrance of Thomas Shi-Tao Huang SM ’60, ScD ’63

December 11, 2020

From R to L: Margaret Huang and Thomas Shi-Tao Huang SM ’60, ScD ’63 stand in Killian Court. Photo courtesy of the Huang family. Thomas Shi-Tao Huang SM

Balakrishnan_Hari (240 dpi).jpg

Hari Balakrishnan awarded Infosys Prize for 2020

December 4, 2020

Prof. Hari Balakrishnan The prestigious 2020 Infosys Prize in Engineering and Computer Science was awarded to Hari Balakrishnan, the Fujitsu professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, co-leader

Chen Yan Ragan Kelley.png

Three new career development chairs appointed within EECS

September 17, 2020

L to R: Chen, Yan, Ragan-Kelley This summer has seen three new career development chairs appointed within the EECS faculty. We congratulate Kevin Chen, Jonathan Ragan-Kelley, and Mengjia

Asu and Joel.png

Asu Ozdaglar and Joel Voldman appointed to new chairs within EECS

September 16, 2020

L to R, Joel Voldman and Asu Ozdaglar July saw two new chair appointments within the department’s leadership. Please join us in congratulating Asu Ozdaglar and Joel Voldman