Subject UPDATES for Spring 2018

SHARE:

Check the subject updates for Spring Term 2018 by clicking on the appropriate subject card on this page. These comprise the known changes for subject offerings by the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science. For further information about any subject contact the instructor directly.

6.S077 Introduction to Data Science
Undergraduate; Units: 4-0-8; Prerequisites: 6.041A; Instructor: Instructor: Professors Yury Polyanskiy (yp@mit.edu), Devavrat Shah (devavrat@mit.edu), and John Tsitsiklis, (jnt@mit.edu) Schedule: Lec TR1-2:30, room 32-155; Recs: F11, F1, F2
6.S978 Privacy Legislation in Practice: Law and Technology
Graduate; Prerequisites: Permission of Instructor; Units: 2-0-10; Instructors: Professors Hal Abelson (hal@mit.edu), Daniel Weitzner (djweitzner@csail.mit.edu); Schedule: R3:00-5:0, room TBD
6.882 Bayesian Modeling and Inference
Graduate; Units: 3-0-9; Prerequisites: 6.867, 6.041B, or 6.436, 18.06; Instructor: Professor Tamara Broderick (tbroderick@csail.mit.edu); Schedule: TR2:30-4, room 3-370
6.S979 Seminar in Electric Power Systems
Graduate Level; Units: 3-0-9; Prerequisites: 6.061 or equivalent; Instructor: Prof. James Kirtley (kirtley@mit.edu); Schedule: MW2:30-4, room TBD
6.S076 Network Engineering
Undergraduate Level - AUS; Units: 3-0-9; Prerequisites: 6.02, 6.041, 6.042, 18.440; Instructor: Professor Muriel Medard (medard@mit.edu); Schedule: TR2:30-4, room 36-155
6.S084 Computation Structures (Special)
Undergraduate Level; Units: 4-0-8; Prerequisites: none; Instructors: Professors Arvind, Daniel Sanchez, Silvina Hanono Wachman; Schedule: TR1, room TBD
6.S078 Fixed Parameter and Fine-grained Computation
Undergraduate Level; Units: 3-0-9; Prerequisites: 6.006, 6.042 and one of 6.045 or 6.046, or permission of instructor; Instructors: Profs. Ryan Williams (rrw@mit.edu) and Virginia Williams (virgi@mit.edu); Schedule: MW2:30-4, room 36-156
6.S081 Dynamic Computer Language Engineering
Undergraduate Level; Units: 4-4-4; Prerequisites: 6.004, 6.031; Instructor Professor Michael Carbin; Schedule: MTWRF10, room E25-111
6.886 Graph Analytics
Graduate Level; Units: 3-0-9; Prerequisites: 6.046, 6.172; Instructor: Prof. Julian Shun (jshun@mit.edu); Schedule: WF2:30-4, room 56-154
6.S198 Deep Learning Practicum
Level: Undergraduate; Units: 2-3-7; Prerequisite: 6.034 or 6.036, or permission of instructor; Instructor: Prof. Hal Abelson (hal@mit.edu); Schedule: MW2-3:30, room 36-112
6.S062 Mobile and Sensor Computing
Undergraduate - AUS; Prerequisites: 6.033 or equivalent, or permission of instructor; Units: 3-0-9; Instructors: Profs. Sam Madden and Hari Balakrishnan and Fabel Adib (Media Lab); Schedule: TR1-2:30, room 32-141