Masterworks and EECScon: Showcasing students' research efforts


Photo: Gretchen Ertl

Anne Stuart | EECS

It was a day dedicated entirely to student research.

More than 60 undergraduates spoke or gave poster presentations during EECScon, the annual undergraduate research conference sponsored by the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science (EECS) and MIT Lincoln Labs. About 45 students presented posters or demonstrations during Masterworks, the annual EECS celebration of master's degree thesis research.

Dozens of other students, faculty members, and industry guests joined the back-to-back events on April 18 to learn about students’ work (and enjoy a free lunch during EECScon and an ice-cream buffet during Masterworks). Both events featured prizes for the best presentations. EECScon winners received cash prizes of $50 to $200, while Masterworks winners received prizes donated from Apple and Samsung.

EECScon: Winners’ Circle

  • Audience favorite: William Caruso, a junior in EECS, “Accessibility of Mobile Apps.”
  • First-place poster: Shraman Ray Chaudhuri, a senior in EECS, “Deep Learning for Connectome Segmentation on Multicores.”
  • Second-place poster: Jimmy Wu, a senior in EECS, “Object Detection for Robotic Systems.”
  • Third-place poster: Daniel Richman, a senior in EECS, “RABBIT: Frequency-Hopping for the Internet of Things.”
  • First-place speaker award: Valerie Sarge, a junior in EECS, “Accelerating Super Resolution with Video Compression.”
  • Second-place speaker award: William Moses, a junior in EECS, “Tapir: Embedding Fork-Join Parallelism in LLVM’s IR.”


Co-chairs for the student-run EECScon were Liang Zhou, a junior in EECS and the Brain and Cognitive Science program, and Dominik Martinez, a sophomore in EECS. Committee members included EECS senior Alyssa Cartwright; EECS juniors Rohan Banerjee and Jing Lin; EECS sophomores Sooraj Boominathan, Alisa Ono, Kevin Weng, and Baula Xu, and freshmen Kathryn Jiang and Jingwei Ma. Professor Joel Voldman served as faculty advisor.

Masterworks: Winners' Circle

Morris Joseph Levin Awards for Masterworks Thesis Presentations were given to:

  • Peter Florence, "Integrated Perception and Control at High Speed," supervised by Professor Russ Tedrake.
  • Christopher Poulton, "On-Chip LIDAR with Optical Phased Arrays," supervised by Professor Michael Watts.


Audience-choice winners for Masterworks were:

  • First-place poster: Sami Alsheikh, “Automated Visual and Textual Understanding of Infographics."
  • Second-place poster: Anubhav Jain, “Making Localization Work for Smart Homes.”
  • Third-place poster: Ruizhi Liao, “Temporal Alignment of MRI Time Series.”
  • Fourth-place poster: Mohamed Abdelhamid, “Ultra-Low-Power, High-Sensitivity Secure Wakeup Receiver for the Internet of Things.” 


Industry-choice winners for Masterworks posters were:

  • Electrical engineering winner: Poulton, for “On-Chip LIDAR with Optical Phased Arrays.”
  • Computer science winner: Mingmin Zhao, “Emotion Recognition using Wireless Signals.”


Masterworks also featured a competition in which attendees took a quiz based on information in the posters, with two prizes awarded for the highest number of correct answers. Winners were Mazy Abulnaga, a graduate student in EECS, and Hyuwon Seo, a graduate student in chemistry. Faculty co-chairs for MasterWorks were Professors Dirk Englund and Vinod Vaikuntanathan.



Slides from Masterworks 2017


Slides from EECScon 2017