Sze receives 2016 3M Non-Tenured Faculty Award

March 9, 2016

Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

Vivienne Sze recognized as outstanding junior faculty.

Vivienne Sze

Vivienne Sze, the Emanuel E. Landsman (1958) Career Development Assistant Professor, has received the 2016 3M Non-Tenured Faculty Award. Presented by 3M’s Research and Development Community in partnership with 3Mgives, the award recognizes outstanding new faculty who excel in research, experience, and academic leadership. Sze received the award in support of her work on next-generation embedded vision systems.

Her research focuses on joint design of algorithms, architectures and circuits to build energy efficient and high performance systems. Her work on implementation-friendly video compression algorithms was used in the development of the latest video coding standard HEVC/H.265, enabling it to deliver better compression than previous standards, while still achieving high processing speeds and low hardware cost. She aims to develop energy-aware algorithms and efficient architectures for various energy-constrained applications including portable multimedia, health monitoring and distributed sensing.

Sze joined MIT in August 2013. She is a core member of the Microsystems Technology Laboratories (MTL) and a principal investigator at the Research Laboratory of Electronics (RLE). Sze received the B.A.Sc. degree in Electrical Engineering from the University of Toronto in 2004, and the S.M. and Ph.D. degree in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science from MIT in 2006 and 2010, respectively. From September 2010 to July 2013, she was a Member of the Technical Staff in the Systems and Applications R&D Center at Texas Instruments.

She has received various awards including the Jin-Au Kong Outstanding Doctoral Thesis Prize in 2011, the 2007 DAC/ISSCC Student Design Contest Award, the 2008 A-SSCC Outstanding Design Award, the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC) Julie Payette fellowship in 2004, the NSERC Postgraduate Scholarships in 2005 and 2007, and the Texas Instruments Graduate Woman’s Fellowship for Leadership in Microelectronics in 2008. In 2012, she was selected by IEEE-USA as one of the “New Faces of Engineering”.