Ozdaglar, winner of AACC 2008 Eckman Award

March 20, 2008

Asu Ozdaglar, Associate Professor in MIT Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, the Class of 1943 Career Development Professor and member of the Laboratory of Information and Decision Systems, LIDS, is the 2008 winner of the Donald P. Eckman Award, given to the best control engineer younger than 35.

In making this award, the American Automatic Control Council, AACC, cites Ozdaglar "For contributions to optimization theory, game theory and its applications to congested markets, and learning in large networks with applications to human and social networks."

The Donald P. Eckman Award is one of five annual distinguished awards, made by the AACC since 1964, when MIT EE Professor Michael Athans was the inaugural recipient. In 1975, now Acting Director of LIDS, Alan S. Willsky, the Edwin Sibley Webster Professor of Electrical Engineering, was the Eckman Award recipient. LIDS member and EECS Professor Munther A. Dahleh was the AACC Eckman Award recipient in 1993 and Pablo Parrilo, the Finmeccanica Career Development Professor of Engineering in EECS, was recipient of the Eckman Award in 2005. The award is a memorial to Dr. Donald P. Eckman, who, formerly of Case-Western Reserve University, made important contributions to control theory and practice in the 1950s and 1960s but died tragically in an automobile accident in 1962.

Ozdaglar received her PhD from MIT in 2003 becoming Assistant Professor in the EECS Department that year. Her research interests include nonlinear optimization and convex analysis, game theory, network economics and pricing and resource allocation games, distributed optimization methods and network optimization and control and wireless and wireline networks.

Congratulations Asu!