Henry Smith elected to American Academy of Arts & Sciences

May 2, 2008

EECS Professor Henry I. Smith is among eight members of the MIT faculty ( and 212 total new fellows) recently elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, AAAS.

The Academy, based in Cambridge, Massachusetts and founded in 1780, is an independent policy research center that conducts multidisciplinary studies of complex and emerging problems. The Academy's elected members are leaders in the academic disciplines, the arts, business, and public affairs. With a current membership of 4,000 American Fellows and 600 Foreign Honorary Members, the Academy has four major goals:


  • Promoting service and study through analysis of critical social and intellectual issues and the development of practical policy alternatives



  • Fostering public engagement and the exchange of ideas with meetings, conferences, and symposia bringing diverse perspectives to the examination of issues of common concern



  • Mentoring a new generation of scholars and thinkers through theVisiting Scholars Program and Hellman Fellowship Program



  • Honoring excellence by electing to membership men and women in a broad range of disciplines and professions.


Smith is a principal investigator in the MIT Research Laboratory of Electronics (RLE) where he directs the NanoStructures Laboratory (NSL). His research includes nanofabrication, electronic and photonic devices, and novel applications of nanostructures. Smith is also a Fellow of the IEEE and a member of the National Academy of Engineering, the APS, AVS, MRS, OSA and Sigma Xi. Among numerous awards, Henry Smith is the recipient of Cledo Brunetti Award of the IEEE and the Baccus Award of SPIE.

The new Academy Fellows will welcomed at an annual induction ceremony in October.

Congratulations to Hank Smith!