Five EECS research teams are among 14 recipients of Deshpande Center fall 2014 Research Grants

October 22, 2014

Five EECS faculty and their research teams have been selected for fall 2014 Deshpande Center Research grants.
Five EECS faculty and associated researchers are among the 14 MIT research teams selected to receive Deshpande research grants for fall 2014. Initiated in 2002 through the MIT School of Engineering and made possible by a gift from Desh and Jaishree Deshpande, the Center’s mission is to move technologies from the laboratories at MIT to the marketplace. To date the Deshpande Center has provided $14,000,000 in grants to more than 110 MIT research projects. Twenty-eight projects have spun out of the center as independent startups, having collectively raised over $500 million in outside financing from investors.

The EECS faculty and research team recipients receiving the early stage technology grants include: Professor Marc A. Baldo and postdoctoral associate Paul Azunre '14, for their work to demonstrate the most efficient broadband omnidirectional antireflection coating for silicon solar cells; Professor Sangeeta Bhatia to build a nanotechnology-based disease platform to allow biomarkers for detection of multiple diseases through urinalysis; Professor Michael Watts and postdoctoral associate Michelle Moresco for developing scalable photonic links for Ethernet systems aimed at significantly improved performance; Professor Jing Kong and EECS graduate student Wenjing Fang and postdoctoral associate Sungmi Jung for the development of a novel wastewater treatment system which combines nanowire filtration and bio-electrochemical treatment for the removal of heavy metals, organic contents, and microbes in water; and Professor Tomas Palacios and postdoctoral associate Puneet Srivastava for work aimed at creating GaN high efficiency transmitters for wireless communication. See the Deshpande portfolio at:, pictured above. 

Read more in the Oct. 7, 2014 MIT News Office article titled "MIT Deshpande Center Announces Fall 2014 Research Grants - Fourteen Research Teams Receive $976,000 to Develop New Technological Innovations."