Bhatia, Jaillet,, Kaelbling, and Micali named for new Institute Chairs

July 23, 2010

Four new faculty Chairs in the EECS Department were announced by Department Head Eric Grimson to EECS faculty members on July 22.

"I am delighted to inform you of four new Chairs in the department, awarded to Silvio Micali, Patrick Jaillet, Leslie Kaelbling and Sangeeta Bhatia.

Silvio Micali has been named a new Ford Professor of Engineering. The Ford Chairs are awarded by the school of engineering and are intended to honor faculty members in the school who are recognized as leaders and innovators in their disciplines. Silvio certainly merits this recognition, with contributions to many areas of theoretical computer science, including complexity-based pseudorandom generation and cryptography, interactive and computationally sound proofs, zero knowledge proofs, secure protocols, and resilient mechanism design.

Silvio is the recipient of the Goedel prize (in theoretical computerscience) and the RSA prize (in cryptography), and is a member of the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Patrick Jaillet is the new co-holder of the Dugald C. Jackson Chair. Patrick is a leading expert in optimization, especially in contributions to online optimization, real-time and dynamic optimization, networks, probabilistic combinatorial optimization problems, and financial engineering. Patrick is currently the co-director of the Operations Research Center, and was head of Civil and Environmental Engineering from 2002 to 2009.

Leslie Kaelbling is the new holder of the Panasonic Chair, which was established by the Matsushita Electric Industrial Company, to support a leader in the fields of robotics or artificial intelligence. Leslie is internationally known for her many contributions to decision-making under uncertainty, machine learning, and sensing with applications to robotics. She is editor-in-chief of the Journal of Machine Learning Research, a journal she co-founded. Leslie is an NSF Presidential Faculty Fellow, a former member of the AAAI Executive Council, the 1997 recipient of the IJCAI Computers and Thought Award, a trustee of IJCAII and a fellow of the AAAI. She is also well known to department faculty for her significant efforts in creation of the new curriculum, especially 6.01.

Sangeeta Bhatia is the new holder of the John and Dorothy Wilson Professorship. Sangeeta is a Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator and at MIT is a member of the Koch Institute for Integrative Cancer Research and the Harvard Stem Cell Institute, an Associate member of the Broad Institute, and a Biomedical Engineer at the Brigham & Women's Hospital. Her research is focused on the applications of micro- and nanotechnology for tissue repair and regeneration. She is a Fellow of the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering and of the American Society for Clinical Investigation.

Please join me in congratulating Silvio, Patrick, Leslie and Sangeeta for this wonderful honor."

Eric GrimsonBernard Gordon Professor of Medical EngineeringHead, Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer ScienceMassachusetts Institute of Technology