Two EECS faculty members receive 2018 Sloan Research Fellowships

Thursday, February 15, 2018 - 11:45am

L to R: Professors Stefanie Jegelka and Tamara Broderick

EECS Staff


EECS faculty members Tamara Broderick and Stefanie Jegelka are among eight MIT researchers to receive 2018 Sloan Research Fellowships.

All are among the 126 American and Canadian researchers who to receive the fellowships, the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation announced.

Broderick is the ITT Career Development Assistant Professor of EECS and a member of the both Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence Laboratory (CSAIL) and the Institute for Data, Systems, and Society (IDSS). Jegelka is the X-Consortium Career Development Assistant Professor of EECS and also a member of both IDSS and CSAIL.

Awarded annually since 1955, the Sloan Research Fellowships are given to early-career scientists and scholars whose achievements and potential identify them as rising stars among the next generation of scientific leaders. This year’s recipients are drawn from 53 colleges and universities across the United States and Canada.

“The Sloan Research Fellows represent the very best science has to offer,” Adam Falk, president of the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation, said in a press release. “The brightest minds, tackling the hardest problems, and succeeding brilliantly — Fellows are quite literally the future of twenty-first century science.”

Administered and funded by the foundation, the fellowships are awarded in eight scientific fields: chemistry, computer science, economics, mathematics, evolutionary and computational molecular biology, neuroscience, ocean sciences, and physics. To qualify, candidates must first be nominated by fellow scientists and subsequently selected by an independent panel of senior scholars. Fellows receive $65,000 to be used to further their research.

Since the beginning of the program, 45 Sloan Fellows have earned Nobel Prizes, 16 have won the Fields Medal in mathematics, 69 have received the National Medal of Science, and 17 have won the John Bates Clark Medal in economics, including every winner since 2007.

Other MIT-affiliated 2018 Sloan Research Fellows include: Isaiah Andrews, an associate professor of economics; Riccardo Comin, an assistant professor of physics; Kevin Esvelt, an assistant professor of media arts and sciences at MIT’s Media Lab; Andrei Negut, an assistant professor of mathematics; Gabriela Schlau-Cohen, the Thomas D. and Virginia W. Cabot Assistant Professor of Chemistry; and Alex K. Shalek, the Hermann L.F. von Helmholtz Career Development Assistant Professor of Health Sciences and Technology, an assistant professor of chemistry, and a member of MIT’s Institute for Medical Engineering and Science.

For a complete list of this year’s winners, visit the Sloan Research Fellowships website.