Two associate professors receive tenure from MIT

Tuesday, May 16, 2017 - 9:45pm


Two EECS associate professors were among 12 School of Engineering faculty members who received tenure from MIT.

Timothy Lu ’03, SM ’03, PhD ’08, uses principles inspired by electrical engineering and computer science to develop new techniques for constructing, probing, modulating, and modeling synthetically engineered biological circuits.

Lu is an associate professor in EECS and an associate member of the Broad Institute of MIT and Harvard.  Lu's lab, the Synthetic Biology Group, is focused on advancing fundamental designs and applications for synthetic biology. Lu received MIT bachelor's and MEng degrees in electrical engineering and computer science. He received an MD from Harvard Medical School and PhD from the Harvard-MIT Health Sciences and Technology Medical Engineering and Medical Physics Program. He has won the Lemelson-MIT Student Prize, the Grand Prize in the National Inventor Hall of Fame’s Collegiate Inventors Competition, and the Leon Reznick Memorial Prize for “outstanding performance in research” from Harvard Medical School. Lu has also been selected as a Kavli Fellow by the National Academy of Sciences and a Siebel Scholar.

Ryan Williams works on the theoretical design and analysis of efficient algorithms and in computational complexity theory, focusing mainly on new connections between algorithm design and logical circuit complexity.  

Williams joined MIT as an associate professor in EECS in January 2017. He received a bachelor's in computer science and mathematics from Cornell, and a PhD in computer science from Carnegie Mellon. Following postdoctoral appointments at the Institute for Advanced Study (Princeton) and IBM Almaden, he spent five years as an assistant professor of computer science at Stanford. In addition to some best-paper awards, he has received a Sloan Fellowship, an NSF CAREER Award, a Microsoft Research Faculty Fellowship, and was an invited speaker at the 2014 International Congress of Mathematicians. Williams is a member of the Theory of Computation group in CSAIL.