Fall 2016 Outstanding Thesis Awards

Thursday, November 3, 2016 - 5:15pm

The Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science is proud to present the following awards for SM and PhD theses for Fall 2016. 

2016 George M. Sprowls Award for outstanding PhD thesis in CS
Haitham Al Hassanieh
The Sparse Fourier Transform: Theory and Practice
Supervisor: Dina Katabi

Haogang Chen
Certifying a Crash-safe File System
Supervisor: Frans Kaashoek and Nickolai Zeldovich

Myers A. Davis
Visual Vibration Analysis
Supervisor: Fredo Durand

Christopher W. Fletcher
Oblivious RAM: From Theory to Practice
Supervisor: Srinivas Devadas

Yin Tat Lee
Faster Algorithms for Convex and Combinatorial Optimization
Supervisor: Jonathan Kelner

2016 Jin-Au Kong Award for outstanding PhD thesis in EE
Adam McCaughan
Superconducting Thin Film Nanoelectronics
Supervisor: Karl K. Berggren

Rebecca Mieloszyk
Learning and Model-Based Approaches to Improved Patient Monitoring, Assessment and Treatment in Capnography and Procedual Sedation
Supervisors: Thomas Heldt and George Verghese

2015 Ernst A. Guillemin Thesis Award for outstanding SM thesis in EE
Wei Ouyang
Microfluidic Platform for Rapid Biologics Activity Assessment using Molecular Charge Modulation and Electrokinetic Concentration based Receptor Assays
Supervisor: Jongyoon Han

2015 William A. Martin Memorial Thesis Award for outstanding thesis in CS
Clément Pit Claudel
Compilation using Correct-by-Construction Program Synthesis
Supervisor: Adam Chlipala

Guowei Zhang
Architectural Support to Exploit Commutativity in Shared-Memory Systems
Supervisor: Daniel Sanchez