EECS professor to be recognized for 'pioneering work'

Friday, October 13, 2017 - 5:00pm

Muriel Médard
EECS Staff

The IEEE Communications Society has named EECS faculty member Muriel Médard as the winner of the Edwin Howard Armstrong Achievement Award.

Médard, the Cecil H. Green Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, is being recognized for her "pioneering work in the fields of network coding, wireless communications, and optical networking," according to the society. The award will be presented at GLOBECOM 2017, an international communications conference, in Singapore in December. Earlier this year, Médard received the IEEE's 2017 Aaron D. Wyner Distinguished Service Award during the organization's International Symposium on Information Theory (ISIT).

Médard, a faculty member since 2000, leads the Network Coding and Reliably Communications Group at the Research Laboratory for Electronics (RLE). She has received multiple degrees from MIT, including bachelor's, master's, and PhD degrees in electrical engineering