EECS Celebrates - Fall 2014 Awards

Tuesday, November 18, 2014 - 2:15pm

EECS Department Head Anantha Chandrakasan welcomed the EECS Celebrates attendees to kick off the fall Awards ceremony on Nov. 17, 2014.Prof. Devavrat Shah thanked the awards committee chairs and introduced each awardee and associated faculty advisor.Prof. Chandrakasan, left, shook hands with Sprowls Awardee Austin Clements.Austin Clements is pictured with Prof. ChandrakasanRishabh Singhe received the Sprowls Thesis Award from Prof. Chandrakasan.Matthew Weinberg received the Sprowls Award from Prof. Chandrakasan and his advisor Prof. Kostis Daskalakis joins him (photo right).David Burghoff is awarded by Prof. Chandrakasan the first Jin Au Kong doctoral thesis award in electrical engineering. His advisor Prof. Qing Hu joins him, photo left.Prof. Chandrakasan presents Wenjie Lu with the first place Ernst Guillemin award. His advisor Prof. Jesus del Alamo is standing photo right.Katherine Bouman receives from Prof. Chandrakasan the second winner Ernst Guillemin award.  She is joined by her advisor Prof. Bill Freeman (photo left).Madars Virza, first place winner of the William Martin Prize for best masters thesis in computer science received the award from Prof. Chandrakasan, left and is joined by his advisor Prof. Ron Rivest (photo right).Jeffrey Bosboom, received the second place William Martin best masters thesis in computer science award from Prof. Chandrakasan. Bosboom's advisor, Prof. Saman Amarasinghe joined him (photo right).The group of EECS Celebrates Fall 2014 awardees in a group photo with Profs. Chandrakasan, center back row and Shah, second from left back row.Students and faculty attendees enjoy a reception following the ceremony.Awardee Madars Virza, left, joined his advisor Prof. Rivest and Prof. Nickolai Zeldovich.

Students and faculty in the Electrical Engineering and Computer Science Department gathered yesterday to celebrate award winning thesis work by several EECS graduate students. Department Head Anantha Chandrakasan welcomed the winners and attendees and Professor Devavrat Shah, the EECS Student Awards chair, emceed the event. He recognized the work of the awards committees led by Professors Daskalakis, Hoyt, Zeldovich and Zheng.

The George Sprowls Scholarship fund for outstanding doctoral thesis in Computer Science was awarded to six graduates:

  • Austin T. Clements for his thesis titled “The Scalable Commutativity Rule: Designing Scalable Software for Multicore Processors” — completed under Prof. Frans Kaashoek. Clements will be working at Google.
  • Raluca Ada Popa for her thesis titled “Building practical systems that compute on encrypted data” — completed under Prof. Nicolai Zeldovich. Ada Popa is now a postdoctoral associate at ETH in Zurich and will become assistant professor at UC Berkeley in fall 2015. (She was unable to attend the ceremony.)
  • Michael Rubinstein for his thesis titled “Analysis and Visualization of Temporal Variation in Video” — completed under Prof. Bill Freeman. Rubinstein will be working at Google.
  • Rishabh Singh for his thesis titled “Accesible programing using program synthesis” — completed under Prof. Armando Solar-Lezama. Singh will be working at Microsoft Research.
  • S. Matthew Weinberg for his thesis titled “Algorithms for Strategic Agents” — completed under Prof. Kostis Daskalakis. Weinberg will be a postdoctoral associate at Princeton.
  • Keith Winstein for his thesis titled “Tranpsort architectures for evolving Internet” — completed under Prof. Hari Balakrishnan. Winstein is assistant professor at Stanford. (He was unable to attend the ceremony.)

The Jin Au Kong Thesis Award for outstanding doctoral thesis in Electrical Engineering was awarded to two graduates:

  • David Burghoff for his thesis titled “Broadband Terhertz Photonics” — completed under Prof. Qing Hu. Burghoff will be a postdoctoral associate in the Research Laboratory of Electronics at MIT.
  • Kuang Xu for his thesis titled “On the Power of (even a little) Flexibility in Dynamic Resource Allocation” — completed under Prof. John Tsitsiklis. Xu will be a postdoctoral associate at Microsoft Research-INRIA and then assistant professor at Stanford.

Two winners were recognized for the Ernst Guillemin Award for best Masters Thesis in Electrical Engineering.

  • Wenjie Lu for his thesis titled “Nano-scale Ohmic Contact for II-V MOSFETs” — work completed under Prof. Jesus del Alamo. Lu is a doctoral student with Prof. del Alamo.
  • Katherine Bouman for her thesis titled “Estimating Material Properties of Fabric through the observation of Motion” — work completed under Prof. Bill Freeman, with whom Katherine is now a PhD student.

Two winners of the William Martin Prize for best Masters Thesis in Computer Science included:

  • Madars Virza, first place, for his thesis titled “SNARKs for C: Verifying Program Executions Succinctly and in Zero Knowledge” — completed under Prof. Ron Rivest and Eli Ben-Sasson, Visiting Prof. from the Technion. Virza is now studying for his PhD under Prof. Rivest.
  • Jeffrey Bosboom, second place, for his thesis titled “A commensal Comp[iler for High-Performance Stream Programming” — completed under Prof. Saman Amarasinghe, with whom Bosboom is now studying for his PhD.

A reception was held following this ceremony in building 34 lobby. The next EECS Celebrates Awards event will be held in May 2015.