Congratulations, SuperUROP Scholars!

Friday, May 18, 2018 - 3:00pm

Photo: Gretchen Ertl

EECS Staff


The 2017-2018 SuperUROP Scholars celebrated the completion of their year-long research efforts in mid-May 2018 with a class photo and a closing reception. About 130 undergraduates from EECS and other participating departments received certificates commemorating their achievements.

During a brief ceremony, Anantha Chandrakasan, dean of the School of Engineering, praised the exceptionally high quality of the students' projects and presentations. Chandrakasan, who founded SuperUROP while EECS department head, noted that many past SuperUROP Scholars have gone on to publish the results of their research or give presentations at professional conferences.

Several SuperUROP scholars received best-project awards shortly after the closing reception:

  • Andrew Ilyas received a 2017-2018 SuperUROP Award for his project "Training GANS with Optimism," supervised by Professor Constantinos Daskalaskis.
  • Ekin Karasan received the Robert M. Fano Award for her project "An Enhanced Mechanistic Model for Capnography, with Application to CHF-COPD Discrimination," supervised by Professor George Verghese.
  • Andrew Rouditchenko received a 2017-2018 SuperUROP Award for his project "The Sound of Pixels," supervised by Professor Josh McDermott.
  • Diana Wofk received a 2017-2018 SuperUROP Award for her project "Energy-Efficient Deep Neural Network for Depth Prediction," supervised by Professor Vivienne Sze.


For more about the program, visit the SuperUROP website or visit the MIT News website to read articles, see photos, and view a brief video of the Spring 2018 SuperUROP Showcase poster session.