EECScon: Showcasing undergraduate students' scientific work

Tuesday, May 30, 2017 - 1:30pm

By Anne Stuart | EECS

You could think of it as a crash course in the public side of scientific research.

More than 60 undergraduates spoke or gave poster presentations during EECScon, the annual undergraduate research conference sponsored by the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science (EECS) and MIT Lincoln Labs.

Dozens of other students, faculty members, and industry guests joined the events on April 18 to learn about students’ work and to enjoy a free lunch during EECScon.   Winners received cash prizes of $50 to $200.



EECScon Winners’ Circle

  • Audience favorite: William Caruso, a junior in EECS, “Accessibility of Mobile Apps.”
  • First-place poster: Shraman Ray Chaudhuri, a senior in EECS, “Deep Learning for Connectome Segmentation on Multicores.”
  • Second-place poster: Jimmy Wu, a senior in EECS, “Object Detection for Robotic Systems.”
  • Third-place poster: Daniel Richman, a senior in EECS, “RABBIT: Frequency-Hopping for the Internet of Things.”
  • First-place speaker award: Valerie Sarge, a junior in EECS, “Accelerating Super Resolution with Video Compression.”
  • Second-place speaker award: William Moses, a junior in EECS, “Tapir: Embedding Fork-Join Parallelism in LLVM’s IR.”

Co-chairs for the student-run EECScon were Liang Zhou, a junior in EECS and the Brain and Cognitive Science program, and Dominik Martinez, a sophomore in EECS. Committee members included EECS senior Alyssa Cartwright; EECS juniors Rohan Banerjee and Jing Lin; EECS sophomores Sooraj Boominathan, Alisa Ono, Kevin Weng, and Baula Xu, and freshmen Kathryn Jiang and Jingwei Ma.