Mueller named 2020 Microsoft Research Faculty Fellow


Stefanie Mueller is the X-Career Development Assistant Professor in the MIT EECS department joint with MIT Mechanical Engineering and Head of the HCI Engineering Group at MIT CSAIL. In her research, she develops novel hardware and software systems that advance personal fabrication technologies. For her work, Stefanie has received multiple best paper awards at the most selective human-computer interaction venues (ACM CHI and ACM UIST), received an NSF CAREER award, and was named an Alfred P. Sloan Fellow as well as a Forbes 30 under 30 in Science. Over the last years, Stefanie has served as an ACM CHI Subcommittee Chair in 2019 and 2020 and is currently serving as the ACM UIST 2020 program chair. She has also been an invited speaker at more than 50 universities and research labs, such as MIT, Stanford University, Harvard University, University of California Berkeley, Carnegie Mellon University, and Microsoft Research.

“My research is at the intersection of human-computer interaction and digital manufacturing. My long-term vision is to enable a future in which the physical objects in our daily lives are customized to each individual user’s personal needs. All of the devices we use in our daily lives today are standardized, that is, a few items of the same size, shape, appearance, and function are sold in large volumes. Since a standardized product must cater to all its potential users, it consequently cannot address each individual user’s personal needs…In my research, I investigate how we can facilitate the development of such individualized physical products and how we can enable products to adapt themselves as users’ preferences and needs change over time.”

This annoucement originally appeared in the Microsoft Research Blog on April 16, 2020.

Media Inquiries

Journalists seeking information about EECS, or interviews with EECS faculty members, should email

Please note: The EECS Communications Office only handles media inquiries related to MIT’s Department of Electrical Engineering & Computer Science. Please visit other school, department, laboratory, or center websites to locate their dedicated media-relations teams.