Jae Lim wins 2020 Ho-Am Prize for Engineering

Jae Lim, EECS Professor

Lori LoTurco | SoE

The EECS professor was recognized for contributions to digital signal processing and compression technology.

Jae Lim, a professor in the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science (EECS), has been named a 2020 Ho-Am Prize laureate.

South Korea’s Ho-Am Prize was established in 1990 by Kun-Hee Lee, Chairman of Samsung, in honor of Samsung’s founder, “Ho-Am” Byung-Chall Lee. It is presented every year “to individuals who have contributed to academics, the arts, and social development, or who have furthered the welfare of humanity through distinguished accomplishments in their respective professional fields,” as described in an announcement from the Seoul-based Ho-Am Foundation.

The Ho-Am Prize for Engineering “is presented to people of Korean heritage whose accomplishments have contributed to the development of industry for greater prosperity for humanity,” according to the Ho-Am Foundation’s website. Lim was recognized for developing “digital video conversion and related technology that automatically decodes the format of the received video and converts the video to the digital TV display format.” The US Federal Communications Commission (FCC) adopted the technology as part of the digital TV standard, which is now used worldwide.

Lim was additionally recognized by the Ho-Am Foundation for developing “digital voice compression technology that became the voice compression standard of many international communication systems,” including mobile and satellite radio and cellular phones.

Lim, along with the Ho-Am laureates for Science, Medicine, the Arts, and Community Service, will be recognized at a ceremony and reception in Seoul, South Korea in June.

Media Inquiries

Journalists seeking information about EECS, or interviews with EECS faculty members, should email eecs-communications@mit.edu.

Please note: The EECS Communications Office only handles media inquiries related to MIT’s Department of Electrical Engineering & Computer Science. Please visit other school, department, laboratory, or center websites to locate their dedicated media-relations teams.