EECS faculty members receive INFORMS John Von Neumann Theory Prize

EECS Professors Dimitri Bertsekas (left) and John Tsitsiklis. Image: Courtesy of LIDS

EECS Staff

EECS faculty members Dimitri Bertsekas and John Tsitsiklis have jointly received the 2018 John Von Neumann Theory Prize from the Institute for Operations Research and the Management Sciences (INFORMS).

The John von Neumann Theory Prize is awarded annually to a scholar or scholars for making  fundamental, sustained contributions to theory in operations research and the management sciences. The criteria for the prize are broad and include significance, innovation, depth, scientific excellence, and contributions that have stood the test of time.

“Their monograph ‘Parallel and Distributed Computation: Numerical Methods’ represents a significant achievement in the field,” the award citation reads. “The work of Bertsekas and Tsitsiklis is characterized by its innovation, depth and clarity, and it has had tremendous impact as evident from the large number of citations. Their two joint monographs are among their individual five most cited works, making the award of a joint prize particularly appropriate. Bertsekas and Tsitsiklis have brought the fields of computer science and operations research closer together through unifying theory.”

Bertsekas is McAfee Professor of Electrical Engineering, and a principal investigator in the Laboratory for Information and Decision Systems (LIDS), and a core faculty member of the Institute for Data, Systems, and Society. Tsitsiklis is Clarence J. Lebel Professor of Electrical Engineering, director of LIDS, and associate director of IDSS. Both are members of the National Academy of Engineering.

Media Inquiries

Journalists seeking information about EECS, or interviews with EECS faculty members, should email

Please note: The EECS Communications Office only handles media inquiries related to MIT’s Department of Electrical Engineering & Computer Science. Please visit other school, department, laboratory, or center websites to locate their dedicated media-relations teams.