2012-13 Siebel Scholars are Honored



Siebel Scholars in EECS for 2012-13 are honored. From left to right EECS graduate administrator Peggy Carney, Tao Yu, Ningren Han, Rohit Singh, Rachel Chasin, Anirudha Majumdar and EECS Graduate Officer Leslie Kolodziejski.

We are pleased to announce the 2012-2013 recipients of the annual Siebel Scholars awards in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science and they are:  Rachel Chasin,who is working with Prof. Peter Szolovits with interests in natural language processing; Ningran Han who is working with Professor Qing Hu in terahertz technology;  Anirudha Majumdar, who is working with Prof. Russell Tedrake in the Robot Locomotion Group; Rohit Singh who is working with Prof. Armando Solar-Lezama in CSAIL;  and Tao Yu who works with Prof.  Judy Hoyt in the Microsystems Technology Lab.  These five distinguished students of the 2013 class of Siebel Scholars join 85 others nationwide in an ever-growing, lifelong community of leaders.  Today nearly 800 Siebel Scholars are active in a program that nurtures leadership, academic achievement, and the collaborative search for solutions to the world’s most pressing problems.  The Siebel Scholars  Program was established in 2000 by the Siebel Foundation through grants to 17 partner institutions.  Each Siebel Scholar receives a $35,000 award for the final year of their Master’s program.