Subject Updates ST 2016

SHARE:

Check the subject updates for ST 2016 by clicking on the appropriate subject card on this page. These comprise the known changes for subject offerings by the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science. For further information about any subject contact the instructor directly.

6.883 Online Methods in Machine Learning: Theory and Applications
Graduate; Units: 3-0-9; Prerequisites:6.431, 18.06; Instructor: Alexander Rakhlin, rakhlin@mit.edu; Schedule: MW2:30-4, room 32-124
6.881 Computational Personal Genomics: Making sense of complete genomes
Graduate; Prerequisites: 6.047, or permission of instructor; Units: 2-0-10; Instructor: Professor Manolis Kellis (manoli@mit.edu); Schedule: L M4-6, room TBD;
6.882 Bayesian Modeling and Inference
Graduate; Units: 3-0-9; Prerequisites: 6.437, 6.438 or 6.867; Instructor: Professor Tamara Broderick (tbroderick@csail.mit.edu); Schedule: TR2:30-4 in room 4-153
6.888 Advanced Topics in Networking
Graduate; Units: 3-0-9; Prerequisites: 6.829 or equivalent. General background in computer networking preferred or permission of instructor; Instructor: Professor Mohammad Alizadeh (alizadeh@mit.edu); Schedule: TR2:30-4, room 36-112
6.S198 Making Mobile Apps
Undergraduate; Units: 2-3-7; Prerequisite: 6.005 or experience with Java; Instructor: Prof. Hal Abelson; Schedule: MW2-4, room 36-112
6.S04 Fundamentals of Programming
Undergraduate Prerequisites: 6.0001 or 6.0001 Advanced Standing Exam or 6.01 Units: 2-4-6; Institute Lab; Instructor: Prof. Srini Devadas; Schedule: L T11-12:30; Laboratory 1: W 10-12 or W 1-3; Laboratory 2: F 10-12 or F 1-3
6.S062 Mobile and Sensor Computing
Undergraduate; Prerequisites: 6.005, or equivalent, 6.033 or 6.02; Units: 3-0-9; Instructors: Profs. Sam Madden and Hari Balakrishnan; Schedule: MW11-12:30, room 34-303
6.S08 Interconnected Embedded Systems (new)
Undergraduate; Institute Lab; Prerequisites: none; Units: 1-5-6; Instructors: Prof. Joel Voldman (voldman@mit.edu), Dr. Joe Steinmeyer (jodalyst@mit.edu); Schedule: Lectures T2, room 56-154, Labs: T3-4:30, R2-5, room 36-153;
6.S194 Open Source Software Project
Undergraduate; Units: 2-5-5; Prerequisites: 6.005, 6.006, preference given to 6.170 and 6.172 alums; Instructor: Professor Saman Amarasinghe (saman@csail.mit.edu); Schedule: TR2:30-4, room 26-168
6.S197 Practical Magic
Offered ST16 Undergraduate Prerequisites: 8.01 (8.02 co-req) Units: 2-5-2 Instructors: Profs. Steven Leeb and Marc Baldo Schedule: Tuesdays 3-5, Room 38-501
6.S898 Cybersecurity Policy
Graduate; Prerequisites: none; Units: 3-0-9; Instructors: Dr. David Clark (ddc@csail.mit.edu), Dr. Shirley Hung (shirley@mit.edu); Schedule: T1-4, room 56-169
6.S977 Technical Communication Skills for Graduate Students
Graduate Prerequisites: none Units: 3-0-3
6.S978 Privacy Legislation in Practice: Law and Technology
Graduate; Prerequisites: none; Units: 2-0-10; Instructors: Professors Hal Abelson (hal@mit.edu), Daniel Weitzner (djweitzner@csail.mit.edu); Schedule: R3:30-5:30, room 9-152
6.884 Introduction to Machine Learning
Graduate (meets with 6.036); Prerequisites: permission of instructor; Units: 4-0-8; Instructors: Professors Regina Barzilay (regina@csail.mit.edu), Tommi Jaakkola (tommi@csail.mit.edu); Schedule: Lectures TR2:30-4, room 26-100
6.887 Formal Reasoning About Programs
Graduate; Prerequisites: 6.042, 6.005, or equivalent experience with rigorous proofs and programming; Units: 3-0-9; Instructor: Professor Adam Chlipala (adamc@csail.mit.edu); Schedule: MW2:30-4, room 34-304