Subject Updates Fall 2020

SHARE:

Check the subject updates for Fall Term 2020 by clicking on the appropriate subject card on this page. These comprise the known changes for subject offerings by the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science. For further information about any subject contact the instructor directly.

6.881 Intelligent Robot Manipulation
Graduate Level; Units: 3-0-9; Prerequisites: 6.006 and 6.041 and (18.06 or 2.087); Instructors: Prof. Russ Tedrake (russt@mit.edu); Schedule: TR2:30-4, online instruction; Satisfies: AI concentration
6.S062 Applied Quantum and Statistical Physics (meets with 6.728)
Undergraduate Level; Prereqs: 18.06; Units: 4-0-8; Instructor: Prof. Peter Hagelstein; Schedule: WF11-12:30, Rec. M11, instruction virtual; Satisfies: AUS2, EECS
6.S899 Academic Job Search Seminar
Graduate Level; Units: 2-0-4; Prerequisites: Permission of Instructor; Instructors: Prof. Saman Amarasinghe (saman@mit.edu); Deanna Montgomery, Co-Instructor, (dmont@mit.edu); Neil Gaikwad, Teaching Fellow (gaikwad@mit.edu); Schedule: T4-6, virtual instruction; Satisfies: none
6.S00 Introduction to Programming, Computer Science, and Computational Modeling
Undergraduate Level (meets with 6.0001/6.0002); Prereqs: None; Units: 3-0-9; Instructors: Ana Bell, anabell@mit.edu; Profs. John Guttag, guttag@mit.edu and W. Eric Grimson welg@mit.edu; Schedule: Lecture: MW3-4.30, (VIRTUAL) Lab: TBA, Recitation: F10 (ENDS OCT 16) (VIRTUAL) or F11 (ENDS OCT 16) (VIRTUAL) or F1 (ENDS OCT 16) (VIRTUAL); Satisfies: REST
6.S077/6.S974 Entrepreneurship for Collaborative Machine Intelligence
6.S077 (UG) meets with 6.S974 (G); Units: 2-0-1; Half-term subject (meets wks 8-15); Pre-reqs: none; Instructors: Julie Shah (Aero/Astro), arnoldj@MIT.EDU and Bill Aulet (Sloan School), aulet@mit.edu; Schedule: Fridays 3-5, virtual instruction; Satisfies: none
6.S080 Hacking the Future: The Fall of COVID (also 15.S19, 2.S19)
Undergraduate Level; Units: 3-6-3; Prerequisites: None; Instructors: Bill Aulet, Anette (Peko) Hosoi, Michallana Jester, Simon Johnson, Chap Lawson, and Ronald Rivest; Schedule: MW3:30-5, virtual instruction
6.882 Structured Models for Artificial Intelligence: Course Development
Graduate Level; Units: 3-0-9; Prerequisites: 6.036 and 6.006 and (6.034 or 6.008) and (6.008 or 6.041) or equivalent; Instructors: Professors Leslie Kaelbling (lpk@csail.mit.edu), Tomas Lozano-Perez (tlp@csail.mit.edu); Schedule: Lectures, TR1-2:30, online instruction; Satisfies: AI concentration
6.S084 Linear Algebra and Optimization (also 18.S096)
Undergraduate Level; Units: 5-0-7; Prerequisites: Calculus I; Instructors: Professors Pablo Parrilo (parrilo@mit.edu), Ankur Moitra (moitra@mit.edu); Schedule: Lectures, MWF2, online instruction; Reciations TR9, 11, 12, 4, and 7 Satisifies: 18.06 substitution
6.S979 Quantum Nonlocality
Graduate Level; Units: 3-0-9; Prerequisites: 2.111, 8.371, or equivalent; Instructor: Prof. Anand Natarajan; Schedule: Lectures MW2-3:30; Satisfies: none
6.S079 Superconducting Classical and Quantum Circuits
Undergraduate Level; Units: 9; Prerequisites: 6.002 and 6.0001 or equivalent (6.013 highly recommended); Instructor: Professor Karl Berggren, (berggren@mit.edu); Schedule: TR1-2:30, virtual instruction
ES.S40 How Science Can Enable a More Cooperative Future
Undergraduate Level; Units: 3-0-6; Prerequistes: none; Instructors: Henry Lieberman, Research Scientist, CSAIL (lieber@mit.edu) ; Christopher Fry, Haddington Robotics (cfry@media.mit.edu); Schedule: TBD, online instruction; Satisfies: none
6.S076 Neural Circuits for Cognition (meets with 9.49)
Undergraduate Level; Units: 3-0-9; Prerequisites: 9.40, 18.06, or permission of instructor; Instructor: Prof. Ila Fiete, fiete@mit.edu; Schedule: Lectures TR2:30-4, online instruction; Satisfies: EECS requirement.
6.S082 Introduction to Computational Science and Engineering (also under 16.901, 18.S190)
Undergraduate (2nd Half Term); Prerequisites: 6.0001 or permission of instructor; Units: 3-0-3; Instructors: Professors David Darmofal (darmofal@mit.edu), Laurent Demanet (laurent@math.mit.edu); Schedule: MW3:00-4:30, online instruction; Satisfies: 1/2 REST Course 6 only
6.883 Meta Learning
Graduate Level; Units: 3-0-9; Prerequisites: 6.036 or 6.867; Instructor: Dr. Iddo Drori, idrori@mit.edu Schedule: TR4-5:30, online instruction; Satisfies: AI concentration
6.S063/6.S977 Sports Technology: Engineering & Innovation (meets with 2.98/2.980)
Undergraduate 2.98/6.S063 (12 units); Graduate Level 2.980/6.S977 (6 units); Prereqs: None; Instructors: Professor Anette Hosoi (peko@mit.edu), Christina Chase (cchase@mit.edu), Professor John Guttag (guttag@mit.edu) Schedule: Lectures R1-2:30, R1 T1-2:30, R2 T2:30-4, online instruction
6.S978 Negotiation and Influenced Skills for Technical Leaders
Graduate Level; Units: 2-0-4; Prerequisites: none; Instructor: David Nino, Senior Lecturer, Gordan-MIT Engineering Leadership Program (dnino@mit.edu); Schedule: Lectures T1-3, online instruction; Satisfies: none
6.884 Neurosymbolic Models for Natural Language Processing
Graduate Level; Units: 2-0-10; Prereqs: 6.864 or 9.19; Instructor: Prof. Jacob Andreas (jandreas@gmail.com); Schedule: Lectures Friday 11:30-1:30, online instruction; Satisfies: AI concentration
6.893 Protecting Privacy with Cryptographic Systems
Graduate Level Units: 3-0-9 Prerequisites: 6.033 and 6.857 or 6.875, or equivalent introductory cryptography subject Instructor: Professor Henry Corrigan-Gibbs, henryg@csail.mit.edu Schedule: Lecturers MW1-2:30, online instruction; Satisfies: Theoretical Computer Science concentration
6.888 Secure Hardware Design
Graduate Level; Units: 3-0-9; Prereqs: 6.004 or equivalent; 6.823 is recommended; Instructor: Prof. Mengjia Yan, mengjiay@mit.edu; Schedule: MW1-2:30, online instruction; Satisfies: Computer Systems concentration
6.S081 Introduction to Operating Systems
Undergraduate Level -AUS; Units: 3-6-3; Prereqs: 6.004, 6.033; Instructors: Professors M. Frans Kaashoek, and Robert Morris;; Schedule: L MW1-2:30, online instruction
6.S078 Fixed Parameter and Fine-grained Computation
Undergraduate Level; Units: 3-0-9; Prerequisites: 6.006, 6.042 and one of 6.045 or 6.046, or permission of instructor; Instructors: Profs. Ryan Williams (rrw@mit.edu) and Virginia Williams (virgi@mit.edu); Schedule: Lectures, MW2:30-4, online instruction; Satisfies: II or AUS