2021-22 EECS Student Award Roundup

Yuzhou Gu, a graduate student currently working in LIDS, has won the Best Student Paper Award at the 2021 Conference on Learning Theory (COLT 2021) for a paper entitled “Stochastic block model entropy and broadcasting on trees with survey.” 

Graduate students Lucy Chai and Dishita Turakhia were named recipients of the 2022 Facebook (Meta) Fellowships, which award PhD candidates conducting cutting-edge research in emerging topics across computer science and engineering, including AI system hardware/software co-design, blockchain and cryptoeconomics, human-computer interaction, programming languages, and AR/VR future technologies.

Graduate students Shyan Akmal, Surya Mathialagan, Christopher Scarvelis, Olivia Seow, and Shangdi Yu were named recipients of the 2022 Siebel Scholars award, which annually recognizes exceptional students from the world’s leading graduate schools of business, computer science, and bioengineering.

Syamantak Payra, a senior in EECS, was awarded one of the 2022 Paul and Daisy Soros Fellowships for New Americans.

So-Yoon Yang and Caris Moses, both graduate students in EECS, were named recipients of the 2021-22 Accenture Fellowships, which are given annually to graduate students working on research in industry and technology convergence.

Media Inquiries

Journalists seeking information about EECS, or interviews with EECS faculty members, should email eecs-communications@mit.edu.

Please note: The EECS Communications Office only handles media inquiries related to MIT’s Department of Electrical Engineering & Computer Science. Please visit other school, department, laboratory, or center websites to locate their dedicated media-relations teams.