Microsystems Technology Laboratories (MTL)/MIT Interdepartmental Center for Graphene-based Research & Development is formed

The launch of the MIT/MTL Center for Graphene Devices and Systems (MIT-CG) was announced by MIT Press Release on Sept. 1, 2011. The inter-departmental center based in the Microsystems Technology Laboratories, MTL, and headed by EECS faculty member Tomas Palacios, will bring together MIT researchers and industrial partners to advance the science and engineering of graphene-based technologies. As noted in the press release:

Parrilo, team propose 'sum of squares convexity' in 20-year optimization issue

Pablo Parrilo, the Finmeccanica Career Development Professor of Engineering, Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science and principal investigator in the Laboratory for Information and Decision Systems (LIDS) at MIT, has added an extension to a 20 year old optimization issue that gives life to solving at least some control issues.

Chandrakasan named head of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science Department

Anantha P. Chandrakasan is appointed department head of EECS, effective July 1, 2011.MIT School of Engineering Dean Ian Waitz announced to the EECS community today the appointment of Anantha P. Chandrakasan to the position of department head of the Electrical Engineering and Computer Science Department, MIT's largest academic department.  Chandrakasan succeeds Eric Grimson, who became MIT's new chancellor in February.  


Subscribe to MIT EECS RSS