Shapiro will receive 2008 International Quantum Communication Award

Jeffrey H. Shapiro, the Julius A. Stratton Professor of Electrical Engineering in the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science and the Director of the Research Lab of Electronics, RLE, will receive the International Quantum Communication Award for outstanding achievements in quantum communication research at the bi-annual Quantum Communication, Measurement and Computer, QCMC, conference to be held at University of Calgary, Canada, on 19-24 August, 2008.

Liskov winner of ACM 2008 SIGPLAN programming achievement award

The Association of Computing Machinery's (ACM) SIGPLAN has awarded Barbara Liskov the 2008 Programming Languages Achievement Award. The annual award is given to recognize an individual (or individuals) who has (have) made a significant and lasting contribution to the field of programming languages. The contribution can be a single event or a life-time of achievement and includes a prize of $5,000.

Landsmans fund vital energy research at EECS/LEES

Emanuel E. Landsman '58, SM '59, ScD'66 (EE) and his wife, Sheila E. Landsman have made a generous $4 million dollar gift to the MIT Laboratory for Electromagnetic and Electronic Systems (LEES) and to the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science (EECS) that will provide a career development professorship, fellowship support and UROP funds in the fields of power electronics and electric energy-related engineering.


Subscribe to MIT EECS RSS