Verghese, Winston are among four MIT faculty named 2011 MacVicar Fellows

March 9, 2011

Patrick Winston, standing right, and George Verghese, seated right, are among four MIT faculty selected as 2012 MacVicar Fellows.

Electrical Engineering and Computer Science Department faculty members George Verghese and Patrick Winston are among the four MIT faculty members selected as MacVicar Faculty Fellows in 2011. Provost L. Rafael Reif announced the honorees including Bishwapriya (Bish) Sanyal, of the Department of Urban Studies and Planning and Christopher Schuh, of the Department of Materials Science and Engineering to the MIT Faculty at a special reception held Tuesday, March 8, at the Gray House.

George Verghese, principal investigator with the Laboratory for Electromagnetic and Electronic Systems (LEES) at the Research Laboratory of Electronics (RLE) heads the Computational Physiology and Clinical Inference Group which develops and applies computational models of human physiology for clinical monitoring and inference, focusing on cardiovascular, cerebrovascular, respiratory and neurological applications. Verghese is noted for his dedication to teaching as EECS Education Officer from 2004 through 2009 and his participation in the new undergraduate curriculum development. Read his article about the launch of the new curriculum in the EECS Newsletter, Fall 2007 "Stepping Out with a New Undergraduate Curriculum." George Verghese is also cited (in the MIT Faculty Newsletter) "for his finding ways to explain complex and challenging material in a clear manner."

Patrick Winston, well known at MIT for his IAP class on speaking heads the Genesis Group in the Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence Laboratory (CSAIL). Winston is particularly involved in the study of how vision, language, and motor faculties account for intelligence. He also works on applications of Artificial Intelligence that are enabled by learning, precedent-based reasoning, and common-sense problem solving. Patrick Winston is cited (in the Faculty Newsletter announcement) for his approach to teaching students -- to think. The thinking process including the thought patterns that lead to the great ideas take priority in his teaching.

There are now 38 current members of the MacVicar Faculty Fellows Program, which was established in 1992 to honor the life and devotion to teaching excellence of Margaret MacVicar ‘64, ScD ‘67, MIT's first dean for undergraduate education and founder of UROP (Undergraduate Research Opportunities Program). The 10-year fellowship provides an annual allowance to support faculty undergraduate teaching efforts.

EECS faculty members who are or have filled the ten year term as MacVicar Fellows include Harold Abelson, (1992 - 2002); Alan V. Oppenheim, (1997 - 2007); Jesús A. del Alamo, (2003 - 2013); Steven B. Leeb, (2004 - 2014); Dennis M. Freeman (2006 - 2016); Charles Leiserson (2007 - 2017); Vladimir Bulovic (2009 - 2019); Daniel Jackson (2009 - 2019); and Rajeev Ram (2010 - 2020).

Congratulations George and Patrick!

Read more:

MIT News Office, March 9, 2011: "Four professors named MacVicar fellows Sanyal, Schuh, Verghese and Winston honored for undergraduate teaching excellence"

MIT Faculty Newsletter, Vol. XXIII No. 3, January/February 2011: "Sanyal, Schuh, Verghese, and Winston Named 2011 MacVicar Faculty Fellows"