Stojanovic and Yanik named for 2010 RLE Allen Award

July 13, 2010

EECS associate professor Vladimir Stojanovic and associate professor of electrical engineering Mehmet Fatih Yanik, along with physic faculty member and RLE principle investigator Martin Zwierlein, have been selected by the Research Laboratory of Electronics, RLE, to receive the 2010 Jonathan Allen Junior Faculty Award as announced by June 17, 2010, press release.

Professor Stojanovic's current research interests focus on several key design aspects of modern integrated systems. His group in RLE works on building cutting edge, energy-efficient integrated systems through vertical optimization encompassing communications and signal processing algorithms and architectures, and digital and mixed-signal circuits.

Professor Yanik's current research interests focus on development and applications of high-throughput technologies for probing and engineering neural processes. His group in RLE studies both in vivo and in vitro neural regeneration and complex wiring of central nerveous system using femtosecond laser nano-surgery and on-chip multi-photon imaging as well as microfluidic in vitro and in vivo high-throughput screening technologies.

EECS faculty member Jeffrey H. Shapiro, Director of RLE and Julius A. Stratton Professor of Electrical Engineering, noted in making the awards, "Professors Stojanovic, Yanik and Zwierlein represent another generation of superb RLE junior faculty who are pushing the boundaries of our understanding of nature, and who are leaders in both the research and educational missions of MIT. I am delighted that the Allen Award can provide crucial support at an especially exciting point in their faculty careers."

The award is named in honor of Jonathan Allen, Professor of Electrical Engineering in the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science. Professor Allen was the sixth Director RLE, and served in that capacity until his death in 2000. Previous recipients of the award are Professors Collin M. Stultz, Luca Daniel, and Jing Kong.

Congratulations Fatih and Vladimir!