Shapiro to receive 2008 IEEE/LEOS Quantum Electronics Award

March 18, 2008

Jeffrey H. Shapiro, Director of the Research Laboratory of Electronics and the Julius A. Stratton Professor of Electrical Engineering in the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at MIT has been selected to receive the IEEE Lasers & Electro-Optics Society, LEOS, Quantum Electronics Award for 2008. He will share the award, to be given on May 7 at the Plenary Session in San Jose, California, with Northwestern Professor Horace P. Yuen, MIT PhD '70.

As awardee, Shapiro is cited for "pioneering and seminal contributions to the theory of the generation, detection, and applications of novel states of light." The Quantum Electronics Award is given to honor an individual (or group of individuals) 'for outstanding technical contributions to quantum electronics, either in fundamentals or applications, or both.'

Shapiro, who earned his PhD in Electrical Engineering at MIT in 1970, has focused his research since 1973 when he became Associate Professor in the MIT EECS Department, on the application of communication theory to optical systems. He is best known for his work on the generation, detection, and application of squeezed-state light beams, though he has also published extensively in the areas of atmospheric optical communication, coherent laser radar, and quantum information science.

Jeffrey Shapiro, who was made full Professor of Electrical Engineering at MIT in 1985, served as MIT EECS Associate Department Head from 1989 until 1999 at which time he became the Julius A. Stratton Professor of Electrical Engineering. In 2001, he was appointed Director of RLE. He also heads the RLE Optical and Quantum Communications Group which was organized to advance the understanding of optical and quantum communication, radar, and sensing systems.

Congratulations Jeff!