Lynch, Stonebraker and Sudan elected 2010 American Academy of Arts & Sciences Fellows

April 21, 2010

Three members of the EECS Department and the Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence Laboratory, CSAIL, including Nancy Lynch, Michael Stonebraker (adjunct professor) and Madhu Sudan have been elected by the American Academy of Arts and Sciences as Fellows in the 2010 selection process which this year includes 229 individuals. A complete listing is provided with the Academy of Arts and Sciences press release. The latest membership includes four additional members of the MIT academic community (MIT News Office, April 19, 2010).

The Academy was established in 1780 by John Adams and other founders of the nation and as stated on its website, "the Academy undertakes studies of complex and emerging problems. Its membership of scholars and practitioners from many disciplines and professions gives it a unique capacity to conduct a wide range of interdisciplinary, long-term policy research. Current projects focus on science and technology; global security; social policy and American institutions; the humanities and culture; and education."

Congratulations Nancy, Madhu and Michael!