Han recipient of 2009 Analytical Chemistry Young Innovator Award

October 30, 2009

Jongyoon Han, Associate Professor of Electrical Engineering in the EECS Department and of Biological Engineering in the BE Department at MIT, is the recipient of the 2009 Analytical Chemistry Young Innovator Award. Han is also a principal investigator in the MIT Research Laboratory of Electronics (RLE) where he directs the Micro/NanoFluidic and BioMEMS Group.

This award, sponsored by the journal, Analytical Chemistry and the Chemical and Biological Microsystems Division (CBMS), recognizes the contributions of an individual who has demonstrated exceptional technical advancement and innovation in the field of micro- or nanofluidics in his or her early career.

Having published in Analytical Chemistry, the Journal of the American Chemical Society, Nano Letters, Langmuir, and Macromolecules, Han has focused his research toward applying micro/nanofabrication techniques to biological problems, specifically proteomic sample preparation and detection. His other scientific interests are nanofluidic transport behaviors, molecular sieving and filtration, and electrokinetics. Han is the recipient of various awards including National Science Foundation Career Award, Karl Van Tassell Career Development Professorship, and Louis D. Smullin Prize for Teaching Excellence.

Congratulations to Jay!