Goldwasser selected as 2010 Benjamin Franklin Medalist

October 20, 2009

EECS faculty member Shafi Goldwasser, the RSA Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at MIT, a co-leader of the Cryptography and Information Security (CIS) group and a member of the Complexity Theory group at the Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence Laboratory (CSAIL), is one of eleven scientists chosen as the 2010 Benjamin Franklin Medal awardees.

As recipient of the Benjamin Franklin Medal in Computer and Cognitive Science, Shafi Goldwasser is cited for "her fundamental contributions to the theoretical foundation of modern cryptography, which led to techniques that can guarantee secure access to the internet."

As noted on the Franklin Institute awards website, medal winners include "individuals whose great innovation has benefited humanity, advanced science, launched new fields of inquiry, and deepened our understanding of the universe." The awards program has provided public recognition and encouragement of excellence in science and technology since 1824, including laureates Alexander Graham Bell, Pierre and Marie Curie, Thomas Edison, Niels Bohr, Max Planck, Albert Einstein and Stephen Hawking. To date, 108 Franklin Institute laureates also have been honored with 110 Nobel Prizes. Bill Gates is one of the 2010 Benjamin Franklin Medalists. Read more at

Congratulations Shafi!