Chandrakasan recipient of SIA University Researcher Award

March 12, 2009

Anantha Chandrakasan, the Joseph F. and Nancy P. Keithley Professor of Electrical Engineering and Director of the Microsystems Technology Laboratories, MTL, at MIT, received the Semiconductor Industry Association (SIA) University Researcher Award today.

Chandrakasan, a member of the Electrical Engineering and Computer Science Department faculty at MIT since 1994 and MTL director since July, 2006, currently heads several research projects inlcuding the Ultra Wide Band, UWB, Project, which is developing a drastically new framework offering high data-rates, low interference and allowing an almost completely digital implementation; and the MIT Sub-Threshold Circuits Group which explores energy-efficient techniques that take advantage of sub-threshold operation. In a recent joint project with scientists at Texas Instruments, Chandrakasan and his team developed a microcontroller that reduces power consumption by 90 percent compared to a conventional device. Read more about Chandrakasan's research.

Chandrakasan is a co-author of Low Power Digital CMOS Design (Kluwer Academic Publishers, 1995), Digital Integrated Circuits (Pearson Prentice-Hall, 2003, 2nd edition), and Sub-threshold Design for Ultra-Low Power Systems (Springer 2006). He is also a co-editor of Low Power CMOS Design (IEEE Press, 1998), Design of High-Performance Microprocessor Circuits (IEEE Press, 2000), and Leakage in Nanometer CMOS Technologies (Springer, 2005).

He has served as a technical program co-chair for the 1997 International Symposium on Low Power Electronics and Design (ISLPED), VLSI Design '98, and the 1998 IEEE Workshop on Signal Processing Systems. He was the Signal Processing Sub-committee Chair for ISSCC 1999-2001, the Program Vice-Chair for ISSCC 2002, the Program Chair for ISSCC 2003, and the Technology Directions Sub-committee Chair for ISSCC 2004-2008. He is the Technology Directions Chair for ISSCC 2009. He was an Associate Editor for the IEEE Journal of Solid-State Circuits from 1998 to 2001. He served on SSCS AdCom from 2000 to 2007 and he was the meetings committee chair from 2004 to 2007. He is a Fellow of the IEEE.

Chandrakasan was cited by the SIA for his work in micro-power design, wireless micro-sensor arrays and ultra-wideband radios. SIA chairman, Hector Ruiz, said that Chandrakasan's work addresses the significant challenges faced by the semiconductor industry today.

"The 'crown jewel' in the U.S. innovation ecosystem is our network of world-leading research universities," Ruiz said in a statement announcing the award to Chandrakasan. "America's research universities attract the best and brightest students and teachers from around the world. University researchers do the fundamental research that has enabled U.S. chipmakers to lead the world in developing innovative products and solutions."

The SIA University Researcher Award was established in 1995 to recognize lifetime research contributions to the U.S. semiconductor industry by university faculty. This year's awards were presented at the annual SIA conference in Washington.

Congratulations Anantha!