Agarwal elected to National Academy of Engineering

February 10, 2013

Anant Agarwal, EECS professor and president of edX, is elected NAE















Anant Agarwal, president of edX, the worldwide, online learning initiative of MIT and Harvard University and professor in the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at MIT has been elected to the National Academy of Engineering (NAE). He is recognized “for contributions to shared-memory and multicore computer architectures.”

NAE president and MIT president emeritus, Charles M. Vest announced on Feb. 7 the election of 69 new members and 11 foreign associates. Election to the National Academy of Engineering is among the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer. Academy membership honors those who have made outstanding contributions to "engineering research, practice, or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to the engineering literature," and to the "pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing/implementing innovative approaches to engineering education."

Two other members of the MIT School of Engineering – John Hansman and Edward Wilson Merrill – were elected to the National Academy. "Anant, John, and Ed have made outstanding contributions to their fields, and I am delighted to see them acknowledged by the National Academy of Engineering,” Ian Waitz, dean of the School of Engineering told the MIT News Office. “They are dedicated scholars and educators, and fantastic members of MIT’s community."

Prof. Agarwal served as the Director of the Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence Laboratory (CSAIL) from July 1, 2011 to spring, 2012, when he became president of edX. A prolific innovator and researcher, Prof. Agarwal led the Carbon Project, which is developing new scalable multicore architectures, a new operating system for multicore and clouds called fos, and a distributed, parallel simulator for multicore and clouds called Graphite. He was a leader of the Angstrom Project, which is creating fundamental technologies for exascale computing. In his spare time, he hacks on WebSim, which is a web-based electronic circuits laboratory. He led the Raw Project at CSAIL, and is a founder of Tilera Corporation. Raw was an early tiled multicore processor with 16 cores.

The following Course VI alumni were also named to the NAE this year, including: Weng Cho Chew ’76, SM ’78, PhD ’80; David Dill ’79; Helen Greiner ’89, SM ’90; Raphael Lee ScD ’80; and José Moura SM ’73, ScD’75.

Read the MIT News Office Feb. 7, 2013 article