Two from MIT share National Academy of Engineering Fritz J. and Dolores H. Russ Prize

Sunday, January 15, 2017 - 9:00am

The National Academy of Engineering (NAE) 2017 Fritz J. and Dolores H. Russ Prize was awarded to a team of researchers, including two MIT affiliates, for their work in optical coherence tomography. The award committee noted that the research demonstrated “creative engineering to invent imaging technology essential for preventing blindness and treating vascular and other diseases.”

The Russ Prize, established in October of 1999, recognizes an outstanding bioengineering achievement in widespread use that improves the human condition as well as acknowledges insights that help the public better understand and appreciate the contributions of engineers to health, well-being and quality of life. The Russ Prize, the Gordon Prize, and the Draper Prize, all awarded by the NAE, are considered by many to be, collectively, the "Nobel Prizes of Engineering.”

Sharing the $500,000 Russ Prize were James Fujimoto and Eric Swanson, both of MIT.

James Fujimoto is the Elihu Thomson Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science in the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science (EECS), a visiting professor of ophthalmology at Tufts University School of Medicine, and an adjunct professor at the Medical University of Vienna. His group and collaborators were responsible for the invention and development of optical coherence tomography (OCT). Their paper, “Optical Coherence Tomography,” published in Science in 1991, remains one of the most cited papers in the biophotonics field. Working with Carmen Puliafito and Eric Swanson, he was a cofounder of the startup company Advanced Ophthalmic Devices, which developed OCT for ophthalmic imaging and was acquired by Carl Zeiss. He also cofounded, with Eric Swanson and Mark Brezinski, LightLab Imaging, which developed cardiovascular OCT and was acquired by Goodman, Ltd. and St. Jude Medical.

Eric Swanson SM '84 is an active participant in a variety of entrepreneurial, industrial, academic, and volunteer activities. He chairs the board of directors for Acacia Communications and is a member of the boards of directors for NinePoint Medical and Curata; serves on the governing board of the Danish National Quantum Innovation Center; and is an affiliate of the MIT Deshpande Center for Entrepreneurship and the MIT Translational Fellows Program. He is a cofounder or founding board member of five startup companies: Advanced Ophthalmic Devices, LightLab Imaging, Sycamore Networks, Acacia Communication, and Curata. Swanson worked at MIT Lincoln Laboratory for 16 years, where he collaborated in the discovery and advancement of OCT and worked on optical networks, including one of the first wavelength division multiplexed all-optical networks, and space communication, including one of the first intersatellite laser communication systems.

Complete information on this year’s and past years' Russ Prizes can be found at the National Academy of Engineering website.

See also the MIT News Office article.