Roundup: EECS faculty awards, prizes, fellowships, and other honors, 2019-2020

Tuesday, October 15, 2019 - 1:15pm

EECS Associate Professor Ruonan Han has recently received two prestigious best-paper awards.


EECS professors are frequently recognized for excellence in teaching, research, service, and other areas. Following is an ongoing list of awards, prizes, medals, fellowships, memberships, grants, and other honors received by EECS faculty beginning in September 2019.

Dimitri Antoniadis, Ray and Maria Stata Professor of Electrical Engineering Emeritus, was inducted into the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in September 2019.

Sangeeta Bhatia, John J. and Dorothy Wilson Professor of Biochemistry and professor of EECS, was elected as a member of the National Academy of Medicine in October 2019.

Vincent W. S. Chan, Joan and Irwin Jacobs Professor of EECS, will serve as president of the IEEE Communication Society for 2020-2021.

Anantha Chandrakasan, dean of the School of the Engineering and Vannevar Bush Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, was inducted into to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in October 2019.

Adam Chlipala, associate professor of computer science, was named as a Distinguished Member by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM), in recognition of "outstanding scientific contributions to computing," in October 2019.

Jesus del Alamo, Donner Professor of Science and director of the Microsystems Technology Laboratories (MTL), was named as a recipient of University Researcher Award from the Semiconductor Industry Association and the Semiconductor Research Corporation in October 2019.

William Freeman, Thomas and Gerd Perkins Professor of EECS (post-tenure) was among the researchers honored with the 2020 Breakthrough Prize in Fundamental Physics, presented by the Breakthrough Prize Foundation in recognition of the Event Horizon Telescope Collaboration, in September 2019. Professor Freeman also received a Distinguished Researcher Award from the IEEE Computer Society's Technical Committee on Pattern Analysis and Machine Intelligence (PAMI) in October 2019.

Ruonan Han, Associate Professor of EECS, was named as a Distinguished Lecturer for 2020-2022 by the IEEE Microwave Theory & Technique Society in September 2019.

David R. Karger, professor of computer science and engineering, was inducted into the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in October. Nancy Lynch, NEC Professor of Software Science and Engineering, received a Doctor honoris causa (an honorary doctorate) from Sorbonne University in September 2019.


Send additions or changes to For a list of awards from the 2018-2019 academic year, please see this earlier roundup.