Medard honored for contributions to information theory community

Thursday, July 6, 2017 - 1:30pm

Muriel Médard, the Cecil H. Green Professor in EECS, received the 2017 Aaron D. Wyner Distinguished Service Award at the recent IEEE International Symposium on Information Theory (ISIT) in Aachen, Germany.

Médard is the first woman to receive the honor, formerly known as the IT Society Distinguished Service Award. It recognizes “an individual who has shown outstanding leadership in, and provided long-standing, exceptional service to, the information theory community.” 

Médard leads the Network Coding and Reliable Communications Group at the Research Laboratory for Electronics (RLE). She has co-founded two companies to commercialize network coding, CodeOn and Steinwurf. An IEEE Fellow, she has served as editor for many IEEE publications, and she is currently editor in chief of the IEEE Journal on Selected Areas in Communications. She was president of the IEEE Information Theory Society (ITSOC) in 2012 and served on its board of governors for 11 years.

Médard has served as technical program committee co-chair of many major conferences in information theory, communications, and networking.  She received the 2009 IEEE Communication Society and Information Theory Society Joint Paper Award, the 2009 William R. Bennett Prize in the Field of Communications Networking, the 2002 IEEE Leon K. Kirchmayer Prize Paper Award, and several conference-paper awards. She was co-winner of MIT’s 2004 Harold E. Edgerton Faculty Achievement Award. In 2007, she was named a Gilbreth Lecturer by the U.S. National Academy of Engineering.

For more on the Wyner Award and its past winners, please visit the ITSOC site.