Judy Hoyt honored for achievements in semiconductor research

Tuesday, October 23, 2018 - 1:30pm

Judy L. Hoyt, Professor of EECS

EECS Staff

EECS Professor Judy L. Hoyt has been named as a recipient of the 2018 University Research Award from the Semiconductor Industry Association (SIA) in collaboration with the Semiconductor Research Corporation (SRC). Hoyt and a second recipient, Naresh Shanbhag, a professor of electrical and computer engineering at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, will be honored at the SIA Annual Award Dinner on Nov. 29 in San Jose, Calif.

In announcing the award, the organizations noted that it was established "to recognize lifetime achievements in semiconductor research by university faculty." Specifically, Hoyt is being recognized for pioneering contributions to the development of strained silicon transistor technology. "Since its first introduction in integrated circuit (IC) volume manufacturing in 2004, strained silicon has underpinned all subsequent generations of semiconductor IC technology to this date and is likely to remain so for the foreseeable future," according to the announcement. "Dr. Hoyt’s work helped to break the [10-nanometer (nm)] barrier and is broadly adopted by companies such as Intel, TSMC, IBM, and others.”

Hoyt received a bachelor's degree in physics and applied mathematics from the University of California Berkeley and a PhD in applied physics from Stanford University. She remained at Stanford as a senior research scientist until coming to MIT in 2000. She is a member and associate director of the Microsystems Technology Laboratories (MTL).