Five EECS students are among the MIT Siebel Scholars class of 2018

Tuesday, October 31, 2017 - 5:00pm

Left to right: EECS Professor Leslie Kolodziejski, Neerja Aggarwal, Mazdak Abulnaga, Eric Bersin, Yu Wang, Gladynel Saavedra


Anne Stuart | EECS

Sixteen MIT graduate students, including five from EECS, are among the 2018 cohort of Siebel Scholars hailing from the world’s top graduate programs in business, bioengineering, computer science, and energy science.

Honored for their academic achievements, leadership, and commitments to addressing crucial global challenges, the select MIT students are among 95 students from 28 institutions participating in the Siebel Scholars program.  

Siebel Scholars, who are chosen by the deans of their respected schools, were honored at a recent luncheon on the MIT campus. Each will receive an award of $35,000 to cover the final year of study. In addition, they will join a community of more than 1,100 past Siebel Scholars, including more than 230 from MIT, who serve as advisors to the Thomas and Stacy Siebel Foundation and collaborate “to find solutions to society’s most pressing problems,” according to the foundation.

EECS’s 2018 Siebel Scholars, chosen by the deans of their respective schools and honored at a recent luncheon on the MIT campus, are:

  • Mazdak Abulnaga
  • Neerja Aggarwal ‘16
  • Eric Bersin
  • Gladynel Saavedra
  • Yu Wang


MIT’s other Siebel Scholars include:

  • Reginald Avery, Department of Biological Engineering
  • Shuvo Banerjee, MIT Sloan School of Management
  • Avery Beach, MIT Sloan School of Management
  • Barry Brudny ’14, MIT Sloan School of Management
  • Santiago Correa Echavarria, MIT Biological Engineering
  • Faye Cheng, MIT Sloan School of Management
  • Jaideep Dudani, Department of Biological Engineering
  • Marco Miotti, Institute for Data, Systems, and Society (IDSS)
  • Rohit Ramchandani, MIT Sloan School of Management
  • Deena Rennerfeldt, Department of Biological Engineering
  • Tahoura Samad, Department of Biological Engineering


Established by the Siebel Foundation in 2000, the Siebel Scholars program provides grants to outstanding students at top graduate schools in the United States, China, France, Italy, and Japan.