Chandrakasan appointed to Vannevar Bush Professorship

Monday, October 26, 2015 - 2:45pm

Anantha Chandrakasan

Anantha P. Chandrakasan has been appointed to the Vannevar Bush Professorship, effective November 1, 2015, Dean of Engineering Ian A. Waitz announced today. The Vannevar Bush Professorship is an Institute-wide professorship established in 1982 as a memorial to one of the most outstanding scientists and engineers of the twentieth century, who was also MIT’s first Dean of the School of Engineering. Previous chair holders include Gerald L. Wilson, Subra Suresh, and Ronald L. Rivest.

“Professor Chandrakasan is an exceptionally talented leader, scholar, innovator, and educator,” Waitz wrote in an email announcing the appointment. “As Department Head in EECS he has led the implementation of many initiatives, several of which — including Start6 and SuperUROP — have been adopted across the School [of Engineering].”

Currently the Joseph F. and Nancy P. Keithley Professor of Electrical Engineering, Chandrakasan is widely known for his landmark 1992 IEEE Journal of Solid State Circuits (JSSC) paper entitled “Low-Power Digital CMOS Design,” which brought the concept of a power-efficient chip to reality in what was to become the second-most cited paper in the history of the JSSC, the leading publication in the field. He and his research group have been recognized over the years by many awards, including the 1993 IEEE Communications Society’s Best Tutorial Paper Award, the IEEE Electron Devices Society’s 1997 Paul Rappaport Best Paper Award, the 2007 ISSCC Beatrice Winner Award for Editorial Excellence, and the ISSCC Jack Kilby Award for Outstanding Student Paper (2007, 2008, 2009). Chandrakasan was selected for the Semiconductor Industry Association (SIA) University Researcher Award in 2009 and received the 2013 IEEE Donald O. Pederson Award in Solid-State Circuits. He is a Fellow of the IEEE and a member of the National Academy of Engineering.