Arvind inducted to NAE

Wednesday, October 8, 2008 (All day)

Arvind, the Johnson Professor of Computer Science and Engineering and a member of the Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence Laboratory, was inducted as one of 65 new members of the National Academy of Engineering on Oct. 5, 2008 at the NAE headquarters in Washington D.C. Arvind is recognized for "contributions to data flow and multi-thread computing and the development of tools for the high-level synthesis of hardware."

Also inducted were Bob Armstrong, the Chevron professor of Chemical Engineering at MIT and the deputy director of the MIT Energy Initiative and EECS alumnus Irwin Jacobs, '57 M.S., '59 ScD., the new chairman of the NAE.

Election to the NAE is among the highest distinctions accorded to engineers. Academy membership honors those who have made outstanding contributions to "engineering research, practice or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to the engineering literature," and to the 'Pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering or developing/implementing innovative approaches to engineering education."

As reported by the MIT News Office, Oct. 6, 2008, "MIT has had deep connections with the NAE since its inception in 1964. Of the Academy's original 25 founding members, nearly a third were trained at the Institute. They include MIT's eleventh president Julius Stratton, and Thomas Sherwood, dean of engineering from 1946 to 1952. Charles Vest, MIT's fifteenth president has been president of the NAE since 2007.

The Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at MIT also reflects a longstanding connection with the NAE including, in order of their election to NAE membership, EECS professors Arthur B. Baggeroer, Jerome H. Saltzer, Gerald J. Sussman, Dimitri P. Bertsekas, James G. Fujimoto, Nancy A. Lynch, Berthold K.P. Horn, Stephen D. Senturia, Rodney A. Brooks, Victor W. Zue, Dimitri A. Antoniadis, M. Frans Kaashoek, James L. Kirtley, Jr., Silvio Micali, John N. Tsitsiklis, and Sir Tim Berners-Lee.

Congratulations to Arvind!