Subject Updates Spring 2017

SHARE:

Check the subject updates for ST 2017 by clicking on the appropriate subject card on this page. These comprise the known changes for subject offerings by the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science. For further information about any subject contact the instructor directly.

6.S080 Brief Introduction to Python
Undergraduate; Prereq: None; Units: 0-1-2; Schedule: TBD; Instructor: Adam Hartz, hartz@mit.edu
6.248 Graphical Models: A Geometric, Algebraic, and Combinatorial Perspective
Graduate level; Units: 3-0-9; Prerequisites: linear algebra and probability (e.g. 18.06/18.700 and 6.041/6.431); Schedule: MW11-12:30, room 1-135; Instructors: Caroline Uhler and Elina Robeva
6.881 Computational Personal Genomics: Making sense of complete genomes CANCELLED ST17
CANCELLED ST17 Graduate Level: Prerequisites: 6.047, or permission of instructor; Units: 2-0-10; Instructor: Professor Manolis Kellis (manoli@mit.edu); Schedule: L M4-6, room 34-301
6.S978 Privacy Legislation in Practice: Law and Technology
Graduate level; Units: 2-0-10; Prerequisites: Permission of Instructor; Instructor: Dr. Daniel J. Weitzner (djweitzner@csail.mit.edu), Dr. Ilaria Liccardi, ilaria@mit.edu; Schedule: Thursday 3-5, room 9-152
6.853 Topics on Algorithmic Game Theory and Data Science
Graduate Level; Units: 3-0-9; Prerequisites: 6.006 or equivalent; Instructors: Professor Constantinos Daskalakis (costis@csail.mit.edu) and Vasilis Syrgkanis (vasilis@cs.cornell.edu); Schedule: WF11:30-1, room 6-120
6.892 Shared public ledgers, cryptocurrencies (and Other Marvels)
Graduate Level; Units: 3-0-9; Prequisites: 6.033 and 6.046, or permission of instructor; Instructor: Prof. Silvio Micali (silvio@csail.mit.edu) and Neha Narula (narula@media.mit.edu); Schedule: F1-4, room 4-163
6.347 Advanced Topics in Signals and Systems: Information Aquisition and Processing
Graduate level; Units: 3-0-9; Instructor: Petros T. Boufounos (petros@boufounos.com); Schedule: MW2-3:30, room 32-144
6.S062 Mobile and Sensor Computing
Undergraduate - AUS; Prerequisites: 6.005, or equivalent, 6.033 or 6.02; Units: 3-0-9; Instructors: Profs. Sam Madden and Hari Balakrishnan; Schedule: MW11-12:30, room 34-304
6.S897 Machine Learning for Healthcare (also HST.S53)
Graduate Level; Units: 2-0-4; Prerequisites: 6.036/6.862, 6.867, 9.520/6.860, 6.806/6.864, 6.438, or 6.034; or Co-reqs 6.036 or 6.862; Instructor: Professor David Sontag (dsontag@csail.mit.edu); Schedule: W2:30-4, room 56-154
6.889 Sublinear Time Algorithms
Graduate Level; Prerequisites: 6.045J, 6.046J; Units: 3-0-9; Instructor: Professor Ronitt Rubinfeld; Schedule: TR11-12:30, room 24-115
6.S194 Open Source Entrepreneurship
Undergraduate; Units: 2-5-5; Prerequisites: 6.005, 6.006, preference given to 6.170 and 6.172 alums; Instructor: Professor Saman Amarasinghe (saman@csail.mit.edu); Schedule: TR2:30-4, room E40-163
6.882 Bayesian Modeling and Inference
Graduate; Units: 3-0-9; Prerequisites: 6.867, 6.041B, or 6.436, 18.06; Instructor: Professor Tamara Broderick (tbroderick@csail.mit.edu); Schedule: TR2:30-4, room 56-154
6.S064 Circuits and Electronics (6.002x)
Undergraduate REST; Prerequisites: Physics II (GIR); Coreq: 18.03 or 2.087; Units: 0-0-12; Scheduled: Online learning with three exams; Instructor: Prof. Gerry Sussman
6.890 Graph and Matrix Algorithms
Graduate Level; Units: 3-0-9; Prerequisites: 6.006, 6.046; Instructor: Professor Virginia Vassilevska Williams (virgito@gmail.com); Schedule: MW1-2:30, room 34-301
6.838 Advanced Topics in Computer Graphics: Shape Analysis
Graduate Level; Units: 3-0-9; Prerequistes: 18.02, 18.06; 6.837 or 6.869 recommended; Instructor: Professor Justin Solomon (jsolomon@mit.edu); Schedule: TR1-2:30 in 32-124
6.S198 Making Mobile Apps -CANCELLED ST17
Level: Undergraduate; Units: 2-3-7; Prerequisite: 6.005 or experience with Java; Instructor: Prof. Hal Abelson; Schedule: MW2-4, room 35-308
6.S898 Advanced Performance-Engineering for Multicore Applications
Level: Graduate Subject; Units: 6-8-4; Prerequisites: 6.172 or at least two of 6.046J, 6.035, and 6.823 or permission of instructor; Instructor: Prof. Charles Leiserson (cel@mit.edu); Schedule: MWF10-12, Room 32-044
6.887 Formal Reasoning About Programs
Graduate Level; Prerequisites: 6.042, 6.005, or equivalent experience with rigorous proofs and programming; Units: 3-0-9; Instructor: Professor Adam Chlipala (adamc@csail.mit.edu); Schedule: MW2:30-4, room 34-304