Subject Updates FT 2014

SHARE:

Check the subject updates for FT 2014 by clicking on the appropriate subject card on this page. These comprise the known changes for subject offerings by the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science. For further information about any subject contact the instructor directly.

6.0001 Introduction to Computer Science and Programming in Python
Undergraduate Units: 2-3-1 First half of term Prerequisites: None Instructor: Prof. John Guttag Schedule: MW3, Room 34-101, Recitations F11, F12, F1, F2 and F3
6.0002 Introduction to Computational Thinking and Data Science
Undergraduate; Units: 2-3-1; Second half of term - Begins 10/20; Prerequisites: None; Instructor: Prof. John Guttag; Schedule: MW3, Room 34-101, Recitations F11, F12, F1, F2 and F3
6.008 and Department Requirements: an FAQ
6.008 Introduction to Inference Fall 2014 6.008 and Department Requirements: some FAQs 1. What departmental requirements does 6.008 satisfy? Students in the 6-2 program may select 6.008 as one of their EE or CS foundation subjects. All EECS students may select 6.008 as one of their math elective or free elective subjects. READ MORE.
6.S077/6.S977 Fundamentals of Photonics
Undergraduate; Advanced Undergraduate Subject; Prereqs: 6.013 or 6.007 or 8.07 or 8.03 or 2.71; Units: 2-0-10; Schedule: MW2:30-4, room 34-303; Instructor: Prof. Dirk Englund, englund@mit.edu
6.S078 Planning Algorithms
Undergraduate; Prerequisites: 6.006; Familiarity with probability, e.g. 6.041 or 18.05, is recommended; Units: 3-0-9; Advanced Undergraduate Subject; Instructors: Professor Tomas Lozano-Perez, tlp@csail.mit.edu; Schedule: MW1-2:30, room 34-303
6.348 Radar Systems and Signal Processing
Graduate H-Level; Units: 4-0-8; Prerequisites: 6.011; Instructor: Dr. James Ward, Assistant Head, Communication Systems Division, Lincoln Laboratory (jward@ll.mit.edu); Schedule: L TR1-2:30, Room 4-149, Recitation F1, Room 4-149;
6.890 Algorithmic Lower Bounds: Fun with Hardness Proofs
Graduate H-Level; Units: 3-0-9; Prerequisites: 6.046 (or equivalent), or permission of instructor; Instructor: Prof. Erik Demaine (edemaine@mit.edu); Schedule: TR3:30-5, room 34-303;
6.893 Algorithms and Signal Processing
Graduate H-Level; Units: 3-0-9; Prerequisites: 6.046, 6.042 or 6.041; basic signal processing; Instructor: Prof. Piotr Indyk, indyk@mit.edu; Schedule: MW12:30-2, room 34-301
6.S898 Readings in Database Systems - A Revised Version of the "Red Book"
Graduate H- Level; Units: 2-0-6; Prerequisites: 6.830/6.814 or equivalent; Instructor: Dr. Michael Stonebraker (stonebraker@csail.mit.edu); Schedule: M2-4, Room 34-301
6.S897/17.S952 Elections and Voting Technology
Graduate H-level; Units: 3-0-9; Prerequisites: None; Instructors: Professors Ronald Rivest (rivest@mit.edu), Charles Stewart (cstewart@mit.edu); Schedule: TR2:30-4, room 34-301;
6.S899 Distributed Graph Algorithms
Graduate H-level; Units: 2-0-4; Prerequisites: Basic algorithms (6.046), Basic probability (6.042 or 6.041); Instructors: Mohsen Ghaffari, PhD student (ghaffari@mit.edu), Dr. Stephan Holzer (holzer@mit.edu), Prof. Nancy Lynch (lynch@csail.mit.edu); Schedule: F11-12:30, Room 4-145
6.S974 Language, Computation, and Biology
Also offered under 24.S95; Graduate H-Level; Units 3-0-9; Prereq: none, permission of instructor; Schedule: F11-3, room 32D-461; Instructors: Professors Robert Berwick, Noam Chomsky